Search other schools on the interactive institution profile tool → · See Washington County Community College's graduate earnings by major →

W

Washington County Community College

Calais, ME | OPEID: 00923100

Public2-yearRural, remoteAccredited by New England Commission on Higher Education
🎓

Admissions & graduation

Selectivity, enrollment, and graduation outcomes.

Acceptance rate

—

Not reported

Enrolled, first-time

—

Not reported

Graduation rate

55.2%

3-year cohort, 2024; 58 students

Completion within 8 years, all students

52%

Students who started in 2016-17 (149), including part-time and transfer students

First-time, full-time students: 55% (115)

Student-to-faculty ratio

12:1

Most recent year: 2024

Graduation rate by group (3-year rate, degree and certificate-seeking students who started in 2021; students in each group in parentheses)

By race and ethnicity

White60% (42)

By aid received

Received a Pell Grant47% (36)
All students55% (58)

From IPEDS Graduation Rates (GR) and the Pell Grant / Direct Subsidized Loan graduation-rate component, 2024-25 collection. Rate is completers within 150% of normal program time divided by the adjusted cohort. Groups with fewer than 30 students are not shown. The headline graduation rate above comes from a different IPEDS file with a slightly different cohort definition, so an all-students figure here can differ from it by a point or two. Differences between groups reflect many things besides the school itself, such as who enrolls and how much support students have.

Who enrolls (fall 2024, all 805 students)

By gender

Women64% (512)
Men36% (293)

By race and ethnicity

White77% (617)
American Indian or Alaska Native7% (57)
Race and ethnicity unknown6% (47)
Black or African American4% (29)
Hispanic or Latino4% (29)
Two or more races2% (20)
Nonresident (international students)0% (4)
Asian0% (1)
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0% (1)

Online learning

Take no courses online35% (279)
Take some courses online24% (196)
Take courses only online41% (330)

Undergraduates: 805 (64% women)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment (EF) survey, fall 2024 headcount of all enrolled students. IPEDS reports gender as men and women and race and ethnicity in federal categories; nonresident students are not classified by race. Online learning counts students taking distance-education courses in fall 2024 (IPEDS Fall Enrollment, distance education). These figures describe who enrolls, not how any group fares at the school. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

Over the 2023-24 year, 1,065 different students were enrolled at some point, including 221 high school students taking college courses. Source: NCES IPEDS 12-month Enrollment, 2023-24 (every student enrolled at any time during the year, counted once; high school students are counted in the total; provisional data). A count of people enrolled, not a measure of quality.

Total enrollment trend (fall headcount)

403
354
405
505
685
805
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS Fall Enrollment, total headcount of all students each fall (2019 to 2024; the 2024 figure is provisional). A school that merges, adds or closes a campus, or changes which campuses it reports together, can show a sudden jump that is not a change in students.

Graduation rate trend

50%
48%
50%
42%
43%
55%
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS Graduation Rates, the share of each entering class that completed a bachelor’s degree (four-year schools) or any award (two-year schools) within 150% of normal time (6 or 3 years); the entering class is six or three years before the survey year shown; the 2024 figure is provisional; less-than-two-year schools are not included

Degrees awarded trend

43
52
39
31
44
31
2018-192019-202020-212021-222022-232023-24

Source: NCES IPEDS Completions, degrees awarded each academic year (associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral, first majors; 2023-24 is a provisional release): the number of awards, not of people, and not a measure of quality. A school that merges, adds or closes a campus, or changes which campuses it reports together, can show a sudden jump that is not a change in students.

Who attends and how they fare

Students who return for year two

61%

Full-time retention rate

First-generation students

44%

Of students who received federal aid

Part-time undergraduates

28%

Share of undergraduates

Undergraduates age 25 or older

39%

Share of undergraduates

Median family income

$24,686

Students who received federal aid

Loan repayment, 3 years

41%

Borrowers who repaid at least $1 of principal

From the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (Creative Commons Attribution), most recent release. Retention is the share of first-time, full-time students who return the next fall. First-generation share and median family income describe students who received federal aid. Repayment is the share of student borrowers who had repaid at least $1 of their loan principal within three years of entering repayment, not the share who paid in full. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these figures; the Department of Education has not endorsed them.

Campus and admissions policies

Admission policy

Open admission

Admits students without selective criteria for most programs

Academic calendar

Semester

Campus housing

145 spaces

Meal plan offered

Undergraduates registered with disabilities

6%

Share of undergraduates

Offered: Employment services for students · Job placement for graduates · On-campus child care

From the IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (2024-25 collection, provisional; housing, meal plan and application fee from the Cost component). Open admission means the school admits students without selective criteria for most programs. Services and opportunities are those the school reported offering. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays’ presentation.

How old students are (fall 2024)

Undergraduates

Under 2043% (349)
20 to 2417% (134)
25 to 3415% (121)
35 and older25% (201)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (enrollment by age, fall 2024; the age component is collected in full only in odd years, so some schools show fall 2023), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES; students of unknown age are left out and levels with fewer than 30 students are not shown. Undergraduates under 20 can include high school students taking college courses. The counts describe who enrolls, and the Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Who earns degrees here (degrees awarded 2023-24)

Associate's degrees: 31
Women61% (19)
Men39% (12)
White84% (26)

From the IPEDS Completions survey (awards and degrees conferred, academic year 2023-24, provisional release that includes estimates for institutions that did not respond), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES; first majors only, so a graduate with two majors is counted once. Levels with fewer than 30 degrees, and race and ethnicity groups with fewer than 5 degrees, are not shown. IPEDS reports gender as men and women and race and ethnicity in federal categories; nonresident students are not classified by race. These counts describe who earns degrees here, not how any group fares, and MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

What is studied here (degrees awarded 2023-24, by broad field; the largest fields at each level)

Associate's degrees (31 awarded)

Education22.6% (7)
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services19.4% (6)
Engineering, Engineering-Related Technologies, Technicians16.1% (5)
All other fields41.9% (13)

From the IPEDS Completions survey (degrees conferred July 2023 to June 2024, first majors only, provisional release that includes estimates for institutions that did not respond), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES, grouped by the 2-digit field families of the Classification of Instructional Programs 2020. A level is shown only when at least 30 degrees were awarded, and fields with fewer than 5 degrees are included only in "All other fields". Degrees awarded are counts of awards, not of people, and say nothing about the quality of a program. MajorPays does not rank institutions or programs and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Where first-year students come from (fall 2024; 147 first-time undergraduates with a known residence)

From the same state89% (131)
From other U.S. states10% (15)
From other countries1% (1)

Most common other states: CT (5), TX (3), NJ (2)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey, residence of first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates (the most recent collection each school reported; students whose residence was not reported are left out). It describes where new students lived when first admitted. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays’ presentation.

Average pay, full-time instructional staff

$63,167

23 staff, 2024-25 (9-month basis)

Average pay by rank (staff in each group in parentheses)

Instructors$63,167 (23)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey (salaries of full-time, nonmedical, instructional staff, 2024-25), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Salaries are averages for the group at this institution, converted to a 9-month basis (staff on contracts shorter than 9 months are excluded); they say nothing about any individual and depend on the mix of fields and ranks. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Where the money goes (expenses, 2023-24)

Total expenses

$10.5 million

2023-24, all purposes

Instruction spending per student

$10,815

439 full-time-equivalent students; includes departmental research and medical instruction not budgeted separately

Instruction45.0%
Research0.0%
Public service0.5%
Academic support14.3%
Student services19.1%
Institutional support14.8%
All other (scholarships and grant aid, auxiliary enterprises, hospitals, independent operations and other)6.3%

From the IPEDS Finance survey (2023-24; forms F1A, F2 or F3 depending on the accounting standard the institution follows) and IPEDS 12-month enrollment (full-time-equivalent students), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Shares are each function as a share of total expenses. Some institutions report finances for several campuses together (their students are added together here), and some values are estimates for institutions that did not report. Institutions with hospitals, large research programs or auxiliary enterprises spend much of their money outside instruction, and accounting rules differ between public and private institutions, so figures are not directly comparable between institutions. Spending is not a measure of quality. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Who works here (staff in full-time equivalents, fall 2024)

Full-time-equivalent staff

76

employees on the payroll, fall 2024, including medical school staff; graduate assistants not counted

Instruction, research and public service46.1% (35)
Librarians, archivists, student and academic affairs and other education services17.1% (13)
Management14.5% (11)
Business and financial operations7.9% (6)
Computer, engineering and science0.0% (0)
Community service, legal, arts and media2.6% (2)
Healthcare practitioners and technical0.0% (0)
All other (service including healthcare support, office, maintenance, sales, production)13.2% (10)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey (full-time-equivalent staff by occupational category, fall 2024), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Full-time-equivalent staff count each part-time employee as one third of a full-time one; counts include medical school staff where the institution has one but not graduate assistants. Institutions with hospitals, research centers or athletic programs employ many people outside teaching, and some campuses report together (figures for child campuses are estimates allocated from the parent), so counts are not directly comparable between institutions. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Full-time faculty by tenure status (23 full-time instructional staff, fall 2024)

Tenured0% (0)
On the tenure track0% (0)
Not on the tenure track or no tenure system100% (23)
Without faculty status0% (0)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey, full-time instructional staff by faculty and tenure status (fall 2024; provisional), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Only full-time instructional staff are counted, so part-time instructors (adjuncts) do not appear here and the figures do not show who teaches any particular class. “Not on the tenure track” includes schools with no tenure system and staff on contracts. A larger share of tenured or tenure-track faculty is not a sign of a better or worse school. MajorPays does not rank schools. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Acceptance rate is admitted ÷ applicants; yield rate is enrolled ÷ admitted. Graduation rate is completers within 150% of normal program time ÷ the adjusted cohort size. From IPEDS Admissions (ADM), Graduation Rates (GR), and Fall Enrollment (EF) survey components. Completion within 8 years is from the IPEDS Outcome Measures (OM) component: the share of degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates who started in 2016-17 and earned any award from this school within eight years, counting part-time and transfer-in students that the standard graduation rate leaves out; the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

📈

Outcomes after enrolling

What students earned and how they repaid federal loans, from the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard.

Median earnings, 6 years after entry

—

Median earnings, 8 years after entry

$30,398

Median earnings, 10 years after entry

$34,407

Sample: 24 students

Middle half: $20,455–$47,980

13% of first-time, full-time students transferred to another school within 150% of normal time. Transfer rate: the share of full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking students who transferred to another school within 150% of normal time (IPEDS Graduation Rates, pooled years, as published in the College Scorecard); students who transfer out are not counted as graduates of this school. Schools report transfers out only when preparing students to transfer is part of their mission, so many schools show none.

Undergraduates with a Pell Grant

39%

Undergraduates with a federal loan

7.4%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard (institution-level data, June 2026 release), licensed under Creative Commons Attribution. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these measures; the Department has not endorsed them. Earnings are for students who received federal financial aid and were working and not enrolled 6, 8 and 10 years after first entering the school; family income groups are thirds of students' reported family income. Repayment shows undergraduate federal loan borrowers by status after entering repayment (deferment and forbearance are combined). The monthly amount on the debt card is the Department's calculation of a standard 10-year payment at 4.99% interest on the median federal debt of students who completed; actual payments depend on the repayment plan. A dash means the value is not published, often because too few students were in the group.

🏷️

Cost

Tuition, net price, and how it's changed over time.

Tuition & fees

$4,156

Most recent year: 2024

Net price

$5,149

Most recent year: 2023

Cost of attendance, on campus

$16,474

2024-25 published charges: Tuition & fees $4,156 + books $1,400 + room & board $8,118 + other $2,800

Out-of-state tuition & fees: $7,036

Net price by family income (average price after grants and scholarships)

$0 to $30,000$4,232
$30,001 to $48,000$4,748
$48,001 to $75,000$7,228
$75,001 to $110,000$5,910
Over $110,000$8,933

Net price by family income is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates who received federal aid, by family income bracket (College Scorecard, most recent year). Brackets with few students can look out of order; read them as rough guides.

Tuition & fees trend

$3k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
2009201020112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Affordability & Transparency Center (CATC)

Net price trend

$6k
$6k
$7k
$7k
$5k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$6k
$6k
$6k
$6k
$4k
$4k
$5k
2008200920102011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Affordability & Transparency Center (CATC)

Tuition & fees is the institution's published sticker price; net price is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates receiving aid (lags tuition by one year in CATC's own reporting).

Cost of attendance adds the school’s published charges for tuition and fees (in-state), books and supplies, room and board, and other expenses for a full-time undergraduate in 2024-25 (provisional data). It is a sticker total, not what a student pays after grants and scholarships. From the NCES IPEDS Cost component (2024-25 data are provisional); the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

💰

Financial aid

Grants and loans received by full-time first-year students.

Received any aid

88.0%

Most recent year: 2024

Pell grants

68.0%

of students received one

Average award: $6,713

Federal grants

88.0%

of students received one

Average award: $5,407

Student loans

17.0%

of students took one out

Average amount: $4,273

Share of students receiving any aid

97.0%
92.0%
82.0%
85.0%
98.0%
88.0%
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS (Student Financial Aid)

Cohort is full-time, first-time undergraduates (a typical incoming class), not the whole student body. Pell grants are federal need-based grants for lower-income students; federal grants also includes Pell. Averages are among students who received that type of aid.

Links from the school

Admissions office · How to apply · Financial aid office · Net price calculator · Veterans’ benefits

Web addresses the school itself reported to the U.S. Dept. of Education (IPEDS directory, 2024-25). MajorPays does not control these sites and cannot vouch for them; the addresses may be out of date. Always check the school’s own site for current prices and deadlines. MajorPays does not provide advice.

📊

Finances

Revenue, expenses, and financial indicators.

Core revenue

$12,494,307

Most recent year: 2024

Core expense

$9,902,770

Total operating expense

Instruction spending

$10,815

Per FTE student

Endowment

$1,193

Per FTE student

Equity ratio

90.0%

Equity divided by total assets

Reported as a public institution, GASB accounting standard. Core revenue/expense are total operating figures (not per-student). Equity ratio is the share of total assets financed by equity rather than debt (shown only between -100% and 100%; what is typical varies a lot by sector, and this is not a judgment of the institution). From IPEDS Finance survey component.

👥

Staffing

Faculty salary and staff counts (full-time equivalent).

Total staff

76

Full-time equivalent

Instructional staff

35

Full-time equivalent

Average salary is equated to a 9-month contract for full-time instructional staff. FTE (full-time equivalent) staff counts combine full- and part-time staff into a single comparable headcount. From IPEDS Human Resources survey component.