Search other schools on the interactive institution profile tool → · See University of Nebraska Medical Center's graduate earnings by major →

U

University of Nebraska Medical Center

Omaha, NE | OPEID: 00689500

Public4-year or aboveLarge cityAccredited by Higher Learning Commission
🎓

Admissions & graduation

Selectivity, enrollment, and graduation outcomes.

Acceptance rate

—

Not reported

Enrolled, first-time

—

Not reported

Graduation rate

—

Not reported

Completion within 8 years, all students

93%

Students who started in 2016-17 (488), including part-time and transfer students

Student-to-faculty ratio

3:1

Most recent year: 2024

Who enrolls (fall 2024, all 3,988 students)

By gender

Women72% (2,866)
Men28% (1,122)

By race and ethnicity

White70% (2,795)
Nonresident (international students)9% (339)
Hispanic or Latino8% (303)
Asian5% (217)
Two or more races4% (149)
Black or African American3% (131)
Race and ethnicity unknown1% (48)
American Indian or Alaska Native0% (4)
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0% (2)

Online learning

Take no courses online84% (3,345)
Take some courses online1% (52)
Take courses only online15% (591)

Undergraduates: 971 (88% women) · Graduate students: 3,017 (67% women)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment (EF) survey, fall 2024 headcount of all enrolled students. IPEDS reports gender as men and women and race and ethnicity in federal categories; nonresident students are not classified by race. Online learning counts students taking distance-education courses in fall 2024 (IPEDS Fall Enrollment, distance education). These figures describe who enrolls, not how any group fares at the school. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

Over the 2023-24 year, 4,194 different students were enrolled at some point. Source: NCES IPEDS 12-month Enrollment, 2023-24 (every student enrolled at any time during the year, counted once; high school students are counted in the total; provisional data). A count of people enrolled, not a measure of quality.

Total enrollment trend (fall headcount)

4.1k
3.7k
3.8k
3.7k
3.8k
4.0k
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS Fall Enrollment, total headcount of all students each fall (2019 to 2024; the 2024 figure is provisional). A school that merges, adds or closes a campus, or changes which campuses it reports together, can show a sudden jump that is not a change in students.

Degrees awarded trend

1.1k
1.1k
1.1k
1.2k
1.1k
1.2k
2018-192019-202020-212021-222022-232023-24

Source: NCES IPEDS Completions, degrees awarded each academic year (associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral, first majors; 2023-24 is a provisional release): the number of awards, not of people, and not a measure of quality. A school that merges, adds or closes a campus, or changes which campuses it reports together, can show a sudden jump that is not a change in students.

Who attends and how they fare

First-generation students

27%

Of students who received federal aid

Part-time undergraduates

15%

Share of undergraduates

Undergraduates age 25 or older

22%

Share of undergraduates

Median family income

$50,020

Students who received federal aid

Loan repayment, 3 years

90%

Borrowers who repaid at least $1 of principal

From the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (Creative Commons Attribution), most recent release. Retention is the share of first-time, full-time students who return the next fall. First-generation share and median family income describe students who received federal aid. Repayment is the share of student borrowers who had repaid at least $1 of their loan principal within three years of entering repayment, not the share who paid in full. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these figures; the Department of Education has not endorsed them.

Campus and admissions policies

Undergraduate application fee

$60

Academic calendar

Semester

Offered: On-campus child care

From the IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (2024-25 collection, provisional; housing, meal plan and application fee from the Cost component). Open admission means the school admits students without selective criteria for most programs. Services and opportunities are those the school reported offering. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays’ presentation.

What happens to students over time (students who first received federal aid here in 2015-16)

4 years later

Finished here 90.6%; Finished at another school 5.9%

From the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (student outcomes by years after entry). The group is students who first received federal student aid (a Pell Grant or federal loan) at this school in 2015-16, followed for four years, so it does not cover every student and says nothing about students who started later or earlier; older groups are not shown because the Department reports data-quality problems for students who began before July 2015. Students for whom the school reported no completion record are counted by the Department as not completing, so "No completion recorded" includes missing records as well as students who left; small groups are suppressed, so the parts may not total 100%, and where the shown parts total less than 90% the row is left out. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

How old students are (fall 2024)

Undergraduates

Under 202% (21)
20 to 2476% (742)
25 to 3413% (131)
35 and older8% (77)

Graduate students

20 to 2437% (1,119)
25 to 3447% (1,424)
35 and older16% (474)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (enrollment by age, fall 2024; the age component is collected in full only in odd years, so some schools show fall 2023), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES; students of unknown age are left out and levels with fewer than 30 students are not shown. Undergraduates under 20 can include high school students taking college courses. The counts describe who enrolls, and the Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Who earns degrees here (degrees awarded 2023-24)

Bachelor's degrees: 429
Women85% (365)
Men15% (64)
White78% (336)
Hispanic or Latino12% (51)
Two or more races3% (14)
Black or African American3% (11)
Asian2% (8)
Nonresident (international students)2% (7)
Master's degrees: 318
Women73% (231)
Men27% (87)
White71% (227)
Hispanic or Latino8% (27)
Asian6% (20)
Two or more races5% (15)
Nonresident (international students)4% (12)
Black or African American3% (9)
Race and ethnicity unknown2% (6)
Doctoral degrees (research, professional and other): 460
Women62% (287)
Men38% (173)
White76% (351)
Asian7% (34)
Nonresident (international students)7% (31)
Hispanic or Latino4% (17)
Race and ethnicity unknown2% (11)
Two or more races2% (9)
Black or African American2% (7)

From the IPEDS Completions survey (awards and degrees conferred, academic year 2023-24, provisional release that includes estimates for institutions that did not respond), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES; first majors only, so a graduate with two majors is counted once. Levels with fewer than 30 degrees, and race and ethnicity groups with fewer than 5 degrees, are not shown. IPEDS reports gender as men and women and race and ethnicity in federal categories; nonresident students are not classified by race. These counts describe who earns degrees here, not how any group fares, and MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

What is studied here (degrees awarded 2023-24, by broad field; the largest fields at each level)

Bachelor's degrees (429 awarded)

Health Professions and Related Programs100.0% (429)

Master's degrees (318 awarded)

Health Professions and Related Programs80.8% (257)
Biological and Biomedical Sciences14.8% (47)
Education4.4% (14)

Doctoral degrees (research, professional and other) (460 awarded)

Health Professions and Related Programs86.3% (397)
Biological and Biomedical Sciences13.7% (63)

From the IPEDS Completions survey (degrees conferred July 2023 to June 2024, first majors only, provisional release that includes estimates for institutions that did not respond), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES, grouped by the 2-digit field families of the Classification of Instructional Programs 2020. A level is shown only when at least 30 degrees were awarded, and fields with fewer than 5 degrees are included only in "All other fields". Degrees awarded are counts of awards, not of people, and say nothing about the quality of a program. MajorPays does not rank institutions or programs and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Average pay, full-time instructional staff

$88,957

330 staff, 2024-25 (9-month basis)

Average pay by rank (staff in each group in parentheses)

Professors$120,650 (48)
Associate professors$97,902 (75)
Assistant professors$78,657 (151)
Instructors$62,184 (49)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey (salaries of full-time, nonmedical, instructional staff, 2024-25), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Salaries are averages for the group at this institution, converted to a 9-month basis (staff on contracts shorter than 9 months are excluded); they say nothing about any individual and depend on the mix of fields and ranks. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Where the money goes (expenses, 2023-24)

Total expenses

$838.9 million

2023-24, all purposes

Instruction spending per student

$72,129

3,626 full-time-equivalent students; includes departmental research and medical instruction not budgeted separately

Instruction31.2%
Research22.5%
Public service2.2%
Academic support15.9%
Student services0.2%
Institutional support6.0%
All other (scholarships and grant aid, auxiliary enterprises, hospitals, independent operations and other)22.1%

From the IPEDS Finance survey (2023-24; forms F1A, F2 or F3 depending on the accounting standard the institution follows) and IPEDS 12-month enrollment (full-time-equivalent students), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Shares are each function as a share of total expenses. Some institutions report finances for several campuses together (their students are added together here), and some values are estimates for institutions that did not report. Institutions with hospitals, large research programs or auxiliary enterprises spend much of their money outside instruction, and accounting rules differ between public and private institutions, so figures are not directly comparable between institutions. Spending is not a measure of quality. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Who works here (staff in full-time equivalents, fall 2024)

Full-time-equivalent staff

5,059

employees on the payroll, fall 2024, including medical school staff; graduate assistants not counted

Instruction, research and public service30.3% (1,532)
Librarians, archivists, student and academic affairs and other education services1.1% (57)
Management7.5% (378)
Business and financial operations4.7% (239)
Computer, engineering and science13.7% (694)
Community service, legal, arts and media3.0% (152)
Healthcare practitioners and technical22.7% (1,147)
All other (service including healthcare support, office, maintenance, sales, production)17.0% (860)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey (full-time-equivalent staff by occupational category, fall 2024), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Full-time-equivalent staff count each part-time employee as one third of a full-time one; counts include medical school staff where the institution has one but not graduate assistants. Institutions with hospitals, research centers or athletic programs employ many people outside teaching, and some campuses report together (figures for child campuses are estimates allocated from the parent), so counts are not directly comparable between institutions. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Full-time faculty by tenure status (644 full-time instructional staff, fall 2024)

Tenured15% (95)
On the tenure track48% (310)
Not on the tenure track or no tenure system34% (218)
Without faculty status3% (21)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey, full-time instructional staff by faculty and tenure status (fall 2024; provisional), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Only full-time instructional staff are counted, so part-time instructors (adjuncts) do not appear here and the figures do not show who teaches any particular class. “Not on the tenure track” includes schools with no tenure system and staff on contracts. A larger share of tenured or tenure-track faculty is not a sign of a better or worse school. MajorPays does not rank schools. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Acceptance rate is admitted ÷ applicants; yield rate is enrolled ÷ admitted. Graduation rate is completers within 150% of normal program time ÷ the adjusted cohort size. From IPEDS Admissions (ADM), Graduation Rates (GR), and Fall Enrollment (EF) survey components. Completion within 8 years is from the IPEDS Outcome Measures (OM) component: the share of degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates who started in 2016-17 and earned any award from this school within eight years, counting part-time and transfer-in students that the standard graduation rate leaves out; the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

📈

Outcomes after enrolling

What students earned and how they repaid federal loans, from the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard.

Median earnings, 6 years after entry

$70,417

Median earnings, 8 years after entry

$72,465

Median earnings, 10 years after entry

$76,833

Sample: 569 students

Middle half: $56,130–$103,669

Median earnings 10 years after entry, by gender

Women$74,888
Men$96,794

Earnings differ by gender for many reasons besides the school, such as the fields students choose and the jobs they take. From the College Scorecard; students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled.

Share earning more than a typical high school graduate

6 years after entry95%
8 years after entry93%
10 years after entry91%

From the U.S. Dept. of Education’s College Scorecard: the share of students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled who earned more than the Department’s threshold for a typical high school graduate, measured 6, 8 and 10 years after they first enrolled (students who entered about 2013 to 2015 for the 6-year figure and about 2009 to 2011 for the 10-year figure; see the Scorecard data documentation for how the threshold is set). It is a share of students, not a measure of how much they earn, and it depends heavily on who enrolls and where they live. MajorPays does not rank schools. The Department has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Median earnings 10 years after entry, by family income

Family income $0–30,000$77,151
$30,001–75,000$76,402
$75,001 and up$76,029

Median debt of graduates

$15,000

Federal loans

About $159 a month over 10 years at 4.99%

Undergraduates with a Pell Grant

22%

Undergraduates with a federal loan

47%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard (institution-level data, June 2026 release), licensed under Creative Commons Attribution. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these measures; the Department has not endorsed them. Earnings are for students who received federal financial aid and were working and not enrolled 6, 8 and 10 years after first entering the school; family income groups are thirds of students' reported family income. Repayment shows undergraduate federal loan borrowers by status after entering repayment (deferment and forbearance are combined). The monthly amount on the debt card is the Department's calculation of a standard 10-year payment at 4.99% interest on the median federal debt of students who completed; actual payments depend on the repayment plan. A dash means the value is not published, often because too few students were in the group.

Earnings and debt by program

Bachelor's degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions51$85,964$106,916$12,715
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions24$66,712$69,253—
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions24$59,621$69,031$25,000
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing336$73,324$76,723$25,000

Master's degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions96$100,106$124,574—
Public Health77$59,287$71,032—
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing42$108,471$114,252—

Doctoral degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other36$62,338——

First-professional degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Dentistry57$132,480$168,581—
Medicine117$64,475$116,814—
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration50$112,647$132,214—
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing43$107,883$115,780—
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions64$74,591$79,514—

Preparatory coursework and teacher certification

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing——$114,872—

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study data (June 2026 release; Creative Commons Attribution license; MajorPays selected and reorganized the figures). Earnings are the median for graduates who were working and not enrolled in more school, 1 year after finishing (graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20, in 2022 dollars) and 4 years after (graduates of 2014-15 and 2015-16, in 2021 dollars); debt is the median federal Stafford and Grad PLUS loan debt of graduates who borrowed, including loans taken at other schools (Parent PLUS and private loans are not included; graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20). A dash means the Department did not publish the figure, usually because the group was small. The counts of degrees awarded are awards in 2020-21, a different year from the graduates measured for earnings and debt, and are awards, not people. Programs are grouped by the Department’s four-digit program codes, listed alphabetically within each degree level, not ranked. Earnings and debt differ for many reasons besides the program, such as the students’ backgrounds and the local job market, and the earlier cohorts predate recent changes. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation. MajorPays does not provide advice.

🏷️

Cost

Tuition, net price, and how it's changed over time.

Graduate tuition & fees

$12,006

Full-time, 2024-25 published charges

Out-of-state: $21,696

Cost of attendance adds the school’s published charges for tuition and fees (in-state), books and supplies, room and board, and other expenses for a full-time undergraduate in 2024-25 (provisional data). It is a sticker total, not what a student pays after grants and scholarships. From the NCES IPEDS Cost component (2024-25 data are provisional); the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

💰

Financial aid

Grants and loans received by full-time first-year students.

Not reported.

Veterans and service members (2023-24)

43 students received Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits ($14,318 on average, $615,678 in all).

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES, IPEDS Student Financial Aid component, Military Service and Veteran’s Benefits (academic year 2023-24; reported by each school; shown when at least 10 students received the benefit). Recipients can include spouses and dependents, and Yellow Ribbon matching aid is not included. These are counts of students and dollars, not a rating of how a school treats veterans or service members, and they do not say who may enroll. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation. MajorPays does not provide advice.

Links from the school

Admissions office / How to apply · Financial aid office · Net price calculator

Web addresses the school itself reported to the U.S. Dept. of Education (IPEDS directory, 2024-25). MajorPays does not control these sites and cannot vouch for them; the addresses may be out of date. Always check the school’s own site for current prices and deadlines. MajorPays does not provide advice.

📊

Finances

Revenue, expenses, and financial indicators.

Core revenue

$834,762,045

Most recent year: 2024

Core expense

$662,735,725

Total operating expense

Instruction spending

$72,129

Per FTE student

Endowment

$136,748

Per FTE student

Equity ratio

92.0%

Equity divided by total assets

Reported as a public institution, GASB accounting standard. Core revenue/expense are total operating figures (not per-student). Equity ratio is the share of total assets financed by equity rather than debt (shown only between -100% and 100%; what is typical varies a lot by sector, and this is not a judgment of the institution). From IPEDS Finance survey component.

👥

Staffing

Faculty salary and staff counts (full-time equivalent).

Total staff

5,059

Full-time equivalent

Instructional staff

690

Full-time equivalent

Average salary is equated to a 9-month contract for full-time instructional staff. FTE (full-time equivalent) staff counts combine full- and part-time staff into a single comparable headcount. From IPEDS Human Resources survey component.