Search other schools on the interactive institution profile tool → · See Stellar Career College's graduate earnings by major →

S

Stellar Career College

Chicago, IL | OPEID: 03759301

Private for-profitLess than 2-yearLarge cityAccredited by Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
🎓

Admissions & graduation

Selectivity, enrollment, and graduation outcomes.

Acceptance rate

—

Not reported

Enrolled, first-time

—

Not reported

Graduation rate

—

Not reported

Student-to-faculty ratio

15:1

Most recent year: 2024

Who enrolls (fall 2024, all 83 students)

By gender

Women89% (74)
Men11% (9)

By race and ethnicity

Black or African American49% (41)
Hispanic or Latino18% (15)
Race and ethnicity unknown13% (11)
White8% (7)
Asian7% (6)
Two or more races4% (3)

Online learning

Take no courses online0% (0)
Take some courses online100% (83)
Take courses only online0% (0)

Undergraduates: 83 (89% women)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment (EF) survey, fall 2024 headcount of all enrolled students. IPEDS reports gender as men and women and race and ethnicity in federal categories; nonresident students are not classified by race. Online learning counts students taking distance-education courses in fall 2024 (IPEDS Fall Enrollment, distance education). These figures describe who enrolls, not how any group fares at the school. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

Over the 2023-24 year, 136 different students were enrolled at some point. Source: NCES IPEDS 12-month Enrollment, 2023-24 (every student enrolled at any time during the year, counted once; high school students are counted in the total; provisional data). A count of people enrolled, not a measure of quality.

Who attends and how they fare

Students who return for year two

91%

Full-time retention rate

First-generation students

63%

Of students who received federal aid

Part-time undergraduates

0%

Share of undergraduates

Undergraduates age 25 or older

67%

Share of undergraduates

Median family income

$11,020

Students who received federal aid

Loan repayment, 3 years

43%

Borrowers who repaid at least $1 of principal

From the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (Creative Commons Attribution), most recent release. Retention is the share of first-time, full-time students who return the next fall. First-generation share and median family income describe students who received federal aid. Repayment is the share of student borrowers who had repaid at least $1 of their loan principal within three years of entering repayment, not the share who paid in full. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these figures; the Department of Education has not endorsed them.

Campus and admissions policies

Admission policy

Open admission

Admits students without selective criteria for most programs

Undergraduate application fee

$100

Academic calendar

Continuous

Offered: Job placement for graduates

From the IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (2024-25 collection, provisional; housing, meal plan and application fee from the Cost component). Open admission means the school admits students without selective criteria for most programs. Services and opportunities are those the school reported offering. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays’ presentation.

How old students are (fall 2023)

Undergraduates

20 to 2431% (23)
25 to 3453% (40)
35 and older16% (12)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (enrollment by age, fall 2023; the age component is collected in full only in odd years, so some schools show fall 2023), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES; students of unknown age are left out and levels with fewer than 30 students are not shown. Undergraduates under 20 can include high school students taking college courses. The counts describe who enrolls, and the Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Program prices (published for 2023-24, largest programs first)

ProgramLengthTuition and feesBooks and supplies
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician53 credit hours (20 months)$26,000$950
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician53 credit hours (18 months)$26,000$950
Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Technology/Technician53 credit hours (20 months)$26,900$950
Radiologic Technology/Science - Radiographer60 credit hours (20 months)$26,000$950
Cardiovascular Technology/Technologist50 credit hours (18 months)$26,000$950
Renal/Dialysis Technologist/Technician35 credit hours (8 months)$12,500$450

Published tuition and fees for the largest program: $19,000 in 2020-21, $22,000 in 2021-22, $24,000 in 2022-23, $26,000 in 2023-24.

From the IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey, price of attendance for institutions whose programs are measured in clock or credit hours (2023-24), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Prices are what the institution published for entering students in its largest programs, before any grants or scholarships; programs are listed with the largest first. The length of a program is as the institution reports it, in clock hours (contact time) or credit hours. Some values are estimates for institutions that did not report. A dash means the school did not report the figure; a field may be listed more than once when a school offers it at different lengths or award types (the survey does not say which); prices are as reported by each institution and may contain errors. A published price is not what any student pays and says nothing about program quality or job outcomes. MajorPays does not rank institutions or programs and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Where the money goes (expenses, 2023-24)

Total expenses

$1.3 million

2023-24, all purposes

Instruction spending per student

$2,367

163 full-time-equivalent students; includes departmental research and medical instruction not budgeted separately

Instruction30.4%
Research0.0%
Public service0.0%
Academic support5.1%
Student services6.6%
Institutional support2.4%
All other (scholarships and grant aid, auxiliary enterprises, hospitals, independent operations and other)55.4%

From the IPEDS Finance survey (2023-24; forms F1A, F2 or F3 depending on the accounting standard the institution follows) and IPEDS 12-month enrollment (full-time-equivalent students), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Shares are each function as a share of total expenses. Some institutions report finances for several campuses together (their students are added together here), and some values are estimates for institutions that did not report. Institutions with hospitals, large research programs or auxiliary enterprises spend much of their money outside instruction, and accounting rules differ between public and private institutions, so figures are not directly comparable between institutions. Spending is not a measure of quality. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Who works here (staff in full-time equivalents, fall 2024)

Full-time-equivalent staff

32

employees on the payroll, fall 2024, including medical school staff; graduate assistants not counted

Instruction, research and public service37.5% (12)
Librarians, archivists, student and academic affairs and other education services3.1% (1)
Management21.9% (7)
Business and financial operations6.2% (2)
Computer, engineering and science3.1% (1)
Community service, legal, arts and media0.0% (0)
Healthcare practitioners and technical0.0% (0)
All other (service including healthcare support, office, maintenance, sales, production)28.1% (9)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey (full-time-equivalent staff by occupational category, fall 2024), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Full-time-equivalent staff count each part-time employee as one third of a full-time one; counts include medical school staff where the institution has one but not graduate assistants. Institutions with hospitals, research centers or athletic programs employ many people outside teaching, and some campuses report together (figures for child campuses are estimates allocated from the parent), so counts are not directly comparable between institutions. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Acceptance rate is admitted ÷ applicants; yield rate is enrolled ÷ admitted. Graduation rate is completers within 150% of normal program time ÷ the adjusted cohort size. From IPEDS Admissions (ADM), Graduation Rates (GR), and Fall Enrollment (EF) survey components. Completion within 8 years is from the IPEDS Outcome Measures (OM) component: the share of degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates who started in 2016-17 and earned any award from this school within eight years, counting part-time and transfer-in students that the standard graduation rate leaves out; the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

📈

Outcomes after enrolling

What students earned and how they repaid federal loans, from the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard.

Median earnings, 6 years after entry

$36,539

Median earnings, 8 years after entry

$29,865

Median earnings, 10 years after entry

$30,337

Sample: 159 students

Middle half: $13,784–$45,300

These earnings and the sample size are reported by the U.S. Department of Education for a group of campuses that share one federal school ID, so the same figures appear on the pages of 3 schools; they describe the group, not this campus alone.

Median earnings 10 years after entry, by gender

Women$28,519
Men$39,582

Earnings differ by gender for many reasons besides the school, such as the fields students choose and the jobs they take. From the College Scorecard; students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled.

Share earning more than a typical high school graduate

6 years after entry60%
8 years after entry50%
10 years after entry50%

From the U.S. Dept. of Education’s College Scorecard: the share of students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled who earned more than the Department’s threshold for a typical high school graduate, measured 6, 8 and 10 years after they first enrolled (students who entered about 2013 to 2015 for the 6-year figure and about 2009 to 2011 for the 10-year figure; see the Scorecard data documentation for how the threshold is set). It is a share of students, not a measure of how much they earn, and it depends heavily on who enrolls and where they live. MajorPays does not rank schools. The Department has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Median debt of graduates

$4,834

Federal loans

About $51 a month over 10 years at 4.99%

Undergraduates with a Pell Grant

88%

Undergraduates with a federal loan

85%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard (institution-level data, June 2026 release), licensed under Creative Commons Attribution. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these measures; the Department has not endorsed them. Earnings are for students who received federal financial aid and were working and not enrolled 6, 8 and 10 years after first entering the school; family income groups are thirds of students' reported family income. Repayment shows undergraduate federal loan borrowers by status after entering repayment (deferment and forbearance are combined). The monthly amount on the debt card is the Department's calculation of a standard 10-year payment at 4.99% interest on the median federal debt of students who completed; actual payments depend on the repayment plan. A dash means the value is not published, often because too few students were in the group.

🏷️

Cost

Tuition, net price, and how it's changed over time.

Tuition & fees

—

Not reported

Net price

$25,959

Most recent year: 2023

Net price by family income (average price after grants and scholarships)

$0 to $30,000$25,959

Net price by family income is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates who received federal aid, by family income bracket (College Scorecard, most recent year). Brackets with few students can look out of order; read them as rough guides.

Tuition & fees is the institution's published sticker price; net price is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates receiving aid (lags tuition by one year in CATC's own reporting).

💰

Financial aid

Grants and loans received by full-time first-year students.

Received any aid

100.0%

Most recent year: 2024

Pell grants

100.0%

of students received one

Average award: $3,254

Federal grants

100.0%

of students received one

Average award: $3,254

Student loans

96.0%

of students took one out

Average amount: $6,195

Share of students receiving any aid

79.0%
90.0%
100.0%
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS (Student Financial Aid)

Cohort is full-time, first-time undergraduates (a typical incoming class), not the whole student body. Pell grants are federal need-based grants for lower-income students; federal grants also includes Pell. Averages are among students who received that type of aid.

Links from the school

Admissions office / How to apply / Financial aid office · Net price calculator

Web addresses the school itself reported to the U.S. Dept. of Education (IPEDS directory, 2024-25). MajorPays does not control these sites and cannot vouch for them; the addresses may be out of date. Always check the school’s own site for current prices and deadlines. MajorPays does not provide advice.

📊

Finances

Revenue, expenses, and financial indicators.

Core revenue

$1,520,093

Most recent year: 2024

Core expense

$1,268,816

Total operating expense

Instruction spending

$2,367

Per FTE student

Endowment

—

Not reported for this institution

Equity ratio

—

Equity divided by total assets

Reported as a private for-profit institution. Core revenue/expense are total operating figures (not per-student). Equity ratio is the share of total assets financed by equity rather than debt (shown only between -100% and 100%; what is typical varies a lot by sector, and this is not a judgment of the institution). From IPEDS Finance survey component.

👥

Staffing

Faculty salary and staff counts (full-time equivalent).

Total staff

32

Full-time equivalent

Instructional staff

12

Full-time equivalent

Average salary is equated to a 9-month contract for full-time instructional staff. FTE (full-time equivalent) staff counts combine full- and part-time staff into a single comparable headcount. From IPEDS Human Resources survey component.