Search other schools on the interactive institution profile tool → · See South University-Tampa's graduate earnings by major →

S

South University-Tampa

Tampa, FL | OPEID: 01303908

Private for-profit4-year or aboveLarge cityAccredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
🎓

Admissions & graduation

Selectivity, enrollment, and graduation outcomes.

Acceptance rate

—

Not reported

Enrolled, first-time

—

Not reported

Graduation rate

—

Fewer than 30 students in the cohort

Completion within 8 years, all students

49%

Students who started in 2016-17 (403), including part-time and transfer students

First-time, full-time students: 24% (37)

Student-to-faculty ratio

14:1

Most recent year: 2024

Who enrolls (fall 2024, all 752 students)

By gender

Women78% (589)
Men22% (163)

By race and ethnicity

Hispanic or Latino30% (228)
White30% (223)
Black or African American24% (180)
Race and ethnicity unknown9% (69)
Asian4% (33)
Two or more races1% (9)
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander1% (4)
Nonresident (international students)1% (4)
American Indian or Alaska Native0% (2)

Online learning

Take no courses online46% (344)
Take some courses online3% (19)
Take courses only online52% (389)

Undergraduates: 388 (75% women) · Graduate students: 364 (82% women)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment (EF) survey, fall 2024 headcount of all enrolled students. IPEDS reports gender as men and women and race and ethnicity in federal categories; nonresident students are not classified by race. Online learning counts students taking distance-education courses in fall 2024 (IPEDS Fall Enrollment, distance education). These figures describe who enrolls, not how any group fares at the school. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

Over the 2023-24 year, 1,319 different students were enrolled at some point. Source: NCES IPEDS 12-month Enrollment, 2023-24 (every student enrolled at any time during the year, counted once; high school students are counted in the total; provisional data). A count of people enrolled, not a measure of quality.

Total enrollment trend (fall headcount)

850
867
809
712
720
752
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS Fall Enrollment, total headcount of all students each fall (2019 to 2024; the 2024 figure is provisional). A school that merges, adds or closes a campus, or changes which campuses it reports together, can show a sudden jump that is not a change in students.

Degrees awarded trend

326
334
322
289
281
278
2018-192019-202020-212021-222022-232023-24

Source: NCES IPEDS Completions, degrees awarded each academic year (associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral, first majors; 2023-24 is a provisional release): the number of awards, not of people, and not a measure of quality. A school that merges, adds or closes a campus, or changes which campuses it reports together, can show a sudden jump that is not a change in students.

Who attends and how they fare

First-generation students

47%

Of students who received federal aid

Part-time undergraduates

27%

Share of undergraduates

Undergraduates age 25 or older

75%

Share of undergraduates

Median family income

$20,000

Students who received federal aid

Loan repayment, 3 years

25%

Borrowers who repaid at least $1 of principal

From the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (Creative Commons Attribution), most recent release. Retention is the share of first-time, full-time students who return the next fall. First-generation share and median family income describe students who received federal aid. Repayment is the share of student borrowers who had repaid at least $1 of their loan principal within three years of entering repayment, not the share who paid in full. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these figures; the Department of Education has not endorsed them.

Campus and admissions policies

Admission policy

Open admission

Admits students without selective criteria for most programs

Academic calendar

Quarter

Offered: ROTC · Employment services for students · Job placement for graduates

From the IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (2024-25 collection, provisional; housing, meal plan and application fee from the Cost component). Open admission means the school admits students without selective criteria for most programs. Services and opportunities are those the school reported offering. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays’ presentation.

What happens to students over time (students who first received federal aid here in 2015-16)

4 years later

Finished here 22.2%; Finished at another school 19.9%; Still enrolled (here or elsewhere) 6.6%; No completion recorded 49.1%; Unknown 1.8%

From the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (student outcomes by years after entry). The group is students who first received federal student aid (a Pell Grant or federal loan) at this school in 2015-16, followed for four years, so it does not cover every student and says nothing about students who started later or earlier; older groups are not shown because the Department reports data-quality problems for students who began before July 2015. Students for whom the school reported no completion record are counted by the Department as not completing, so "No completion recorded" includes missing records as well as students who left; small groups are suppressed, so the parts may not total 100%, and where the shown parts total less than 90% the row is left out. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

How old students are (fall 2023)

Undergraduates

Under 202% (8)
20 to 2423% (91)
25 to 3447% (182)
35 and older28% (109)

Graduate students

Under 200% (1)
20 to 2419% (64)
25 to 3447% (156)
35 and older33% (109)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (enrollment by age, fall 2023; the age component is collected in full only in odd years, so some schools show fall 2023), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES; students of unknown age are left out and levels with fewer than 30 students are not shown. Undergraduates under 20 can include high school students taking college courses. The counts describe who enrolls, and the Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Who earns degrees here (degrees awarded 2023-24)

Bachelor's degrees: 88
Women84% (74)
Men16% (14)
Black or African American33% (29)
Hispanic or Latino32% (28)
White28% (25)
Master's degrees: 138
Women86% (118)
Men14% (20)
White42% (58)
Hispanic or Latino27% (37)
Black or African American20% (27)
Asian6% (8)
Associate's degrees: 47
Women70% (33)
Men30% (14)
White45% (21)
Black or African American21% (10)
Hispanic or Latino21% (10)

From the IPEDS Completions survey (awards and degrees conferred, academic year 2023-24, provisional release that includes estimates for institutions that did not respond), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES; first majors only, so a graduate with two majors is counted once. Levels with fewer than 30 degrees, and race and ethnicity groups with fewer than 5 degrees, are not shown. IPEDS reports gender as men and women and race and ethnicity in federal categories; nonresident students are not classified by race. These counts describe who earns degrees here, not how any group fares, and MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

What is studied here (degrees awarded 2023-24, by broad field; the largest fields at each level)

Bachelor's degrees (88 awarded)

Health Professions and Related Programs95.5% (84)
All other fields4.5% (4)

Master's degrees (138 awarded)

Health Professions and Related Programs91.3% (126)
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services6.5% (9)
All other fields2.2% (3)

Associate's degrees (47 awarded)

Health Professions and Related Programs100.0% (47)

From the IPEDS Completions survey (degrees conferred July 2023 to June 2024, first majors only, provisional release that includes estimates for institutions that did not respond), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES, grouped by the 2-digit field families of the Classification of Instructional Programs 2020. A level is shown only when at least 30 degrees were awarded, and fields with fewer than 5 degrees are included only in "All other fields". Degrees awarded are counts of awards, not of people, and say nothing about the quality of a program. MajorPays does not rank institutions or programs and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Average pay, full-time instructional staff

$70,943

23 staff, 2024-25 (9-month basis)

Average pay by rank (staff in each group in parentheses)

Assistant professors$68,781 (16)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey (salaries of full-time, nonmedical, instructional staff, 2024-25), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Salaries are averages for the group at this institution, converted to a 9-month basis (staff on contracts shorter than 9 months are excluded); they say nothing about any individual and depend on the mix of fields and ranks. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Where the money goes (expenses, 2023-24)

Total expenses

$15.2 million

2023-24, all purposes

Instruction spending per student

$8,099

956 full-time-equivalent students; includes departmental research and medical instruction not budgeted separately

Instruction51.0%
Research0.0%
Public service0.0%
Academic support1.6%
Student services10.6%
Institutional support36.2%
All other (scholarships and grant aid, auxiliary enterprises, hospitals, independent operations and other)0.6%

From the IPEDS Finance survey (2023-24; forms F1A, F2 or F3 depending on the accounting standard the institution follows) and IPEDS 12-month enrollment (full-time-equivalent students), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Shares are each function as a share of total expenses. Some institutions report finances for several campuses together (their students are added together here), and some values are estimates for institutions that did not report. Institutions with hospitals, large research programs or auxiliary enterprises spend much of their money outside instruction, and accounting rules differ between public and private institutions, so figures are not directly comparable between institutions. Spending is not a measure of quality. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Who works here (staff in full-time equivalents, fall 2024)

Full-time-equivalent staff

83

employees on the payroll, fall 2024, including medical school staff; graduate assistants not counted

Instruction, research and public service50.6% (42)
Librarians, archivists, student and academic affairs and other education services27.7% (23)
Management13.3% (11)
Business and financial operations0.0% (0)
Computer, engineering and science1.2% (1)
Community service, legal, arts and media0.0% (0)
Healthcare practitioners and technical0.0% (0)
All other (service including healthcare support, office, maintenance, sales, production)7.2% (6)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey (full-time-equivalent staff by occupational category, fall 2024), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Full-time-equivalent staff count each part-time employee as one third of a full-time one; counts include medical school staff where the institution has one but not graduate assistants. Institutions with hospitals, research centers or athletic programs employ many people outside teaching, and some campuses report together (figures for child campuses are estimates allocated from the parent), so counts are not directly comparable between institutions. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Full-time faculty by tenure status (23 full-time instructional staff, fall 2024)

Tenured0% (0)
On the tenure track0% (0)
Not on the tenure track or no tenure system100% (23)
Without faculty status0% (0)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey, full-time instructional staff by faculty and tenure status (fall 2024; provisional), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Only full-time instructional staff are counted, so part-time instructors (adjuncts) do not appear here and the figures do not show who teaches any particular class. “Not on the tenure track” includes schools with no tenure system and staff on contracts. A larger share of tenured or tenure-track faculty is not a sign of a better or worse school. MajorPays does not rank schools. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Acceptance rate is admitted ÷ applicants; yield rate is enrolled ÷ admitted. Graduation rate is completers within 150% of normal program time ÷ the adjusted cohort size. From IPEDS Admissions (ADM), Graduation Rates (GR), and Fall Enrollment (EF) survey components. Completion within 8 years is from the IPEDS Outcome Measures (OM) component: the share of degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates who started in 2016-17 and earned any award from this school within eight years, counting part-time and transfer-in students that the standard graduation rate leaves out; the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

📈

Outcomes after enrolling

What students earned and how they repaid federal loans, from the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard.

Median earnings, 6 years after entry

$34,115

Median earnings, 8 years after entry

$32,897

Median earnings, 10 years after entry

$34,421

Sample: 22,187 students

Middle half: $17,463–$53,014

These earnings and the sample size are reported by the U.S. Department of Education for a group of campuses that share one federal school ID, so the same figures appear on the pages of 10 schools; they describe the group, not this campus alone.

Median earnings 10 years after entry, by gender

Women$32,983
Men$40,459

Earnings differ by gender for many reasons besides the school, such as the fields students choose and the jobs they take. From the College Scorecard; students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled.

Share earning more than a typical high school graduate

6 years after entry57%
8 years after entry55%
10 years after entry57%

From the U.S. Dept. of Education’s College Scorecard: the share of students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled who earned more than the Department’s threshold for a typical high school graduate, measured 6, 8 and 10 years after they first enrolled (students who entered about 2013 to 2015 for the 6-year figure and about 2009 to 2011 for the 10-year figure; see the Scorecard data documentation for how the threshold is set). It is a share of students, not a measure of how much they earn, and it depends heavily on who enrolls and where they live. MajorPays does not rank schools. The Department has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Median earnings 10 years after entry, by family income

Family income $0–30,000$30,473
$30,001–75,000$46,197
$75,001 and up$58,090

Federal loan repayment, undergraduate borrowers

2 years after entering repayment (15,559 borrowers)

4 years after entering repayment (18,036 borrowers)

Paid in fullMaking progressNot making progressDeferment or forbearanceDelinquentIn default

Dollar-based 10-year repayment rate: over 100% (more than the amount borrowed has been repaid, because interest is included).

Median debt of graduates

$26,123

Federal loans

About $277 a month over 10 years at 4.99%

Undergraduates with a Pell Grant

49%

Undergraduates with a federal loan

60%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard (institution-level data, June 2026 release), licensed under Creative Commons Attribution. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these measures; the Department has not endorsed them. Earnings are for students who received federal financial aid and were working and not enrolled 6, 8 and 10 years after first entering the school; family income groups are thirds of students' reported family income. Repayment shows undergraduate federal loan borrowers by status after entering repayment (deferment and forbearance are combined). The monthly amount on the debt card is the Department's calculation of a standard 10-year payment at 4.99% interest on the median federal debt of students who completed; actual payments depend on the repayment plan. A dash means the value is not published, often because too few students were in the group.

Earnings and debt by program

Associate degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services35$39,761$50,681$30,694
Health and Medical Administrative Services18$29,071$36,905$34,666

Bachelor's degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations4$43,773$53,445$55,162
Criminal Justice and Corrections1$37,713$46,322$55,652
Health and Medical Administrative Services5$39,722$46,885$55,123
Information Science/Studies2$44,682$58,915$52,173
Psychology, General5$28,684$39,694$54,702
Public Health3$34,789$45,993$56,262
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing72$77,635$91,363$41,815

Master's degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions47$107,029$129,131—
Business Administration, Management and Operations1$59,169$74,209—
Criminal Justice and Corrections0$41,898$55,950—
Health and Medical Administrative Services3$47,710$65,167—
Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities0$86,993$101,300—
Human Resources Management and Services1$59,417——
Information Science/Studies1$58,864$78,782—
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing80$102,397$119,307—

Graduate and professional certificates

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing0$113,849$120,256—

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study data (June 2026 release; Creative Commons Attribution license; MajorPays selected and reorganized the figures). Earnings are the median for graduates who were working and not enrolled in more school, 1 year after finishing (graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20, in 2022 dollars) and 4 years after (graduates of 2014-15 and 2015-16, in 2021 dollars); debt is the median federal Stafford and Grad PLUS loan debt of graduates who borrowed, including loans taken at other schools (Parent PLUS and private loans are not included; graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20). A dash means the Department did not publish the figure, usually because the group was small. The counts of degrees awarded are awards in 2020-21, a different year from the graduates measured for earnings and debt, and are awards, not people. Programs are grouped by the Department’s four-digit program codes, listed alphabetically within each degree level, not ranked. Earnings and debt differ for many reasons besides the program, such as the students’ backgrounds and the local job market, and the earlier cohorts predate recent changes. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation. MajorPays does not provide advice.

🏷️

Cost

Tuition, net price, and how it's changed over time.

Tuition & fees

$18,145

Most recent year: 2024

Net price

$21,139

Most recent year: 2023

Cost of attendance, off campus

$36,528

2024-25 published charges: Tuition & fees $18,145 + books $540 + room & board $9,439 + other $8,404

Graduate tuition & fees (full-time): $16,611

Net price by family income (average price after grants and scholarships)

$0 to $30,000$20,347
$30,001 to $48,000$19,364
$48,001 to $75,000$20,759
$75,001 to $110,000$22,442

Net price by family income is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates who received federal aid, by family income bracket (College Scorecard, most recent year). Brackets with few students can look out of order; read them as rough guides.

Tuition & fees trend

$15k
$16k
$16k
$16k
$16k
$17k
$17k
$17k
$17k
$17k
$17k
$17k
$17k
$18k
$18k
2009201020112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Affordability & Transparency Center (CATC)

Net price trend

$21k
$30k
$24k
$22k
$24k
$23k
$23k
$24k
$20k
$16k
$21k
$21k
$22k
$24k
$21k
2008200920102011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Affordability & Transparency Center (CATC)

Tuition & fees is the institution's published sticker price; net price is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates receiving aid (lags tuition by one year in CATC's own reporting).

Cost of attendance adds the school’s published charges for tuition and fees (in-state), books and supplies, room and board, and other expenses for a full-time undergraduate in 2024-25 (provisional data). It is a sticker total, not what a student pays after grants and scholarships. From the NCES IPEDS Cost component (2024-25 data are provisional); the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

💰

Financial aid

Grants and loans received by full-time first-year students.

Received any aid

92.0%

Most recent year: 2024

Pell grants

77.0%

of students received one

Average award: $5,934

Federal grants

77.0%

of students received one

Average award: $6,734

Student loans

77.0%

of students took one out

Average amount: $6,883

Share of students receiving any aid

95.0%
100.0%
100.0%
100.0%
86.0%
92.0%
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS (Student Financial Aid)

Cohort is full-time, first-time undergraduates (a typical incoming class), not the whole student body. Pell grants are federal need-based grants for lower-income students; federal grants also includes Pell. Averages are among students who received that type of aid.

Veterans and service members (2023-24)

38 students received Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits ($9,586 on average, $364,250 in all).

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES, IPEDS Student Financial Aid component, Military Service and Veteran’s Benefits (academic year 2023-24; reported by each school; shown when at least 10 students received the benefit). Recipients can include spouses and dependents, and Yellow Ribbon matching aid is not included. These are counts of students and dollars, not a rating of how a school treats veterans or service members, and they do not say who may enroll. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation. MajorPays does not provide advice.

Links from the school

Admissions office · How to apply · Financial aid office · Net price calculator · Veterans’ benefits

Web addresses the school itself reported to the U.S. Dept. of Education (IPEDS directory, 2024-25). MajorPays does not control these sites and cannot vouch for them; the addresses may be out of date. Always check the school’s own site for current prices and deadlines. MajorPays does not provide advice.

📊

Finances

Revenue, expenses, and financial indicators.

Core revenue

$18,160,863

Most recent year: 2024

Core expense

$15,172,197

Total operating expense

Instruction spending

$8,099

Per FTE student

Endowment

—

Not reported for this institution

Equity ratio

35.0%

Equity divided by total assets

Reported as a private for-profit institution. Core revenue/expense are total operating figures (not per-student). Equity ratio is the share of total assets financed by equity rather than debt (shown only between -100% and 100%; what is typical varies a lot by sector, and this is not a judgment of the institution). From IPEDS Finance survey component.

👥

Staffing

Faculty salary and staff counts (full-time equivalent).

Total staff

83

Full-time equivalent

Instructional staff

42

Full-time equivalent

Average salary is equated to a 9-month contract for full-time instructional staff. FTE (full-time equivalent) staff counts combine full- and part-time staff into a single comparable headcount. From IPEDS Human Resources survey component.