Search other schools on the interactive institution profile tool → · See Northwest Indian College's graduate earnings by major →

N

Northwest Indian College

Bellingham, WA | OPEID: 02180000

Public4-year or aboveMidsize suburbTribal collegeAccredited by Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
🎓

Admissions & graduation

Selectivity, enrollment, and graduation outcomes.

Acceptance rate

—

Not reported

Enrolled, first-time

—

Not reported

Graduation rate

—

Fewer than 30 students in the cohort

Completion within 8 years, all students

26%

Students who started in 2016-17 (235), including part-time and transfer students

First-time, full-time students: 18% (114)

Student-to-faculty ratio

14:1

Most recent year: 2024

Who enrolls (fall 2024, all 636 students)

By gender

Women74% (470)
Men26% (166)

By race and ethnicity

American Indian or Alaska Native73% (467)
Two or more races12% (75)
Hispanic or Latino11% (69)
White3% (17)
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander1% (4)
Black or African American0% (2)
Asian0% (1)
Nonresident (international students)0% (1)

Online learning

Take no courses online14% (90)
Take some courses online42% (266)
Take courses only online44% (280)

Undergraduates: 636 (74% women)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment (EF) survey, fall 2024 headcount of all enrolled students. IPEDS reports gender as men and women and race and ethnicity in federal categories; nonresident students are not classified by race. Online learning counts students taking distance-education courses in fall 2024 (IPEDS Fall Enrollment, distance education). These figures describe who enrolls, not how any group fares at the school. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

Over the 2023-24 year, 1,014 different students were enrolled at some point, including 13 high school students taking college courses. Source: NCES IPEDS 12-month Enrollment, 2023-24 (every student enrolled at any time during the year, counted once; high school students are counted in the total; provisional data). A count of people enrolled, not a measure of quality.

Total enrollment trend (fall headcount)

594
555
622
643
696
636
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS Fall Enrollment, total headcount of all students each fall (2019 to 2024; the 2024 figure is provisional). A school that merges, adds or closes a campus, or changes which campuses it reports together, can show a sudden jump that is not a change in students.

Degrees awarded trend

101
104
100
109
127
153
2018-192019-202020-212021-222022-232023-24

Source: NCES IPEDS Completions, degrees awarded each academic year (associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral, first majors; 2023-24 is a provisional release): the number of awards, not of people, and not a measure of quality. A school that merges, adds or closes a campus, or changes which campuses it reports together, can show a sudden jump that is not a change in students.

Who attends and how they fare

First-generation students

47%

Of students who received federal aid

Part-time undergraduates

30%

Share of undergraduates

Undergraduates age 25 or older

68%

Share of undergraduates

Median family income

$11,799

Students who received federal aid

From the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (Creative Commons Attribution), most recent release. Retention is the share of first-time, full-time students who return the next fall. First-generation share and median family income describe students who received federal aid. Repayment is the share of student borrowers who had repaid at least $1 of their loan principal within three years of entering repayment, not the share who paid in full. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these figures; the Department of Education has not endorsed them.

Campus and admissions policies

Admission policy

Open admission

Admits students without selective criteria for most programs

Academic calendar

Quarter

Campus housing

93 spaces

Meal plan offered

Offered: Weekend or evening college · Undergraduate research

From the IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (2024-25 collection, provisional; housing, meal plan and application fee from the Cost component). Open admission means the school admits students without selective criteria for most programs. Services and opportunities are those the school reported offering. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays’ presentation.

How old students are (fall 2023)

Undergraduates

Under 2014% (100)
20 to 2417% (121)
25 to 3431% (213)
35 and older38% (262)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (enrollment by age, fall 2023; the age component is collected in full only in odd years, so some schools show fall 2023), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES; students of unknown age are left out and levels with fewer than 30 students are not shown. Undergraduates under 20 can include high school students taking college courses. The counts describe who enrolls, and the Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Who earns degrees here (degrees awarded 2023-24)

Bachelor's degrees: 49
Women76% (37)
Men24% (12)
American Indian or Alaska Native94% (46)
Associate's degrees: 104
Women76% (79)
Men24% (25)
American Indian or Alaska Native93% (97)
White5% (5)

From the IPEDS Completions survey (awards and degrees conferred, academic year 2023-24, provisional release that includes estimates for institutions that did not respond), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES; first majors only, so a graduate with two majors is counted once. Levels with fewer than 30 degrees, and race and ethnicity groups with fewer than 5 degrees, are not shown. IPEDS reports gender as men and women and race and ethnicity in federal categories; nonresident students are not classified by race. These counts describe who earns degrees here, not how any group fares, and MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

What is studied here (degrees awarded 2023-24, by broad field; the largest fields at each level)

Bachelor's degrees (49 awarded)

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services49.0% (24)
Public Administration and Social Service Professions24.5% (12)
Natural Resources and Conservation14.3% (7)
Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies12.2% (6)

Associate's degrees (104 awarded)

Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities72.1% (75)
Health Professions and Related Programs12.5% (13)
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services6.7% (7)
Education5.8% (6)
All other fields2.9% (3)

From the IPEDS Completions survey (degrees conferred July 2023 to June 2024, first majors only, provisional release that includes estimates for institutions that did not respond), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES, grouped by the 2-digit field families of the Classification of Instructional Programs 2020. A level is shown only when at least 30 degrees were awarded, and fields with fewer than 5 degrees are included only in "All other fields". Degrees awarded are counts of awards, not of people, and say nothing about the quality of a program. MajorPays does not rank institutions or programs and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Where first-year students come from (fall 2024; 84 first-time undergraduates with a known residence)

From the same state68% (57)
From other U.S. states32% (27)
From other countries0% (0)

Most common other states: AR (7), ID (4), AZ (3)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey, residence of first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates (the most recent collection each school reported; students whose residence was not reported are left out). It describes where new students lived when first admitted. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays’ presentation.

Average pay, full-time instructional staff

$57,801

24 staff, 2024-25 (9-month basis)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey (salaries of full-time, nonmedical, instructional staff, 2024-25), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Salaries are averages for the group at this institution, converted to a 9-month basis (staff on contracts shorter than 9 months are excluded); they say nothing about any individual and depend on the mix of fields and ranks. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Where the money goes (expenses, 2023-24)

Total expenses

$31.0 million

2023-24, all purposes

Instruction spending per student

$12,510

585 full-time-equivalent students; includes departmental research and medical instruction not budgeted separately

Instruction23.6%
Research3.2%
Public service0.0%
Academic support5.6%
Student services23.3%
Institutional support20.9%
All other (scholarships and grant aid, auxiliary enterprises, hospitals, independent operations and other)23.4%

From the IPEDS Finance survey (2023-24; forms F1A, F2 or F3 depending on the accounting standard the institution follows) and IPEDS 12-month enrollment (full-time-equivalent students), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Shares are each function as a share of total expenses. Some institutions report finances for several campuses together (their students are added together here), and some values are estimates for institutions that did not report. Institutions with hospitals, large research programs or auxiliary enterprises spend much of their money outside instruction, and accounting rules differ between public and private institutions, so figures are not directly comparable between institutions. Spending is not a measure of quality. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Research spending (research and development expenditures, fiscal year 2024)

Research and development spending

$7.0 million

fiscal year 2024, all sources

Federal government74.0%
The institution's own funds26.0%

Research by field (share of research and development spending, fiscal year 2024)

Fields outside science and engineering (business, education, humanities, law and others)86.4%
Life sciences (including agricultural, biological and health sciences)8.7%
Engineering3.9%
Geosciences, atmospheric and ocean sciences1.0%

From the National Science Foundation’s Higher Education Research and Development (HERD) Survey, fiscal year 2024 (research and development spending, including spending on medical school research and funds the institution itself provides), National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics. Figures are what an institution reported spending, not research quality or results, and institutions with medical schools or large research centers report much more. Short-form institutions report fewer details, some totals are estimates NSF made for institutions that did not report, and institutions that report several campuses together, or that NSF could not match to a federal identifier, are not shown. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The National Science Foundation has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Who works here (staff in full-time equivalents, fall 2024)

Full-time-equivalent staff

156

employees on the payroll, fall 2024, including medical school staff; graduate assistants not counted

Instruction, research and public service25.0% (39)
Librarians, archivists, student and academic affairs and other education services16.7% (26)
Management23.1% (36)
Business and financial operations5.1% (8)
Computer, engineering and science5.1% (8)
Community service, legal, arts and media5.1% (8)
Healthcare practitioners and technical0.0% (0)
All other (service including healthcare support, office, maintenance, sales, production)20.5% (32)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey (full-time-equivalent staff by occupational category, fall 2024), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Full-time-equivalent staff count each part-time employee as one third of a full-time one; counts include medical school staff where the institution has one but not graduate assistants. Institutions with hospitals, research centers or athletic programs employ many people outside teaching, and some campuses report together (figures for child campuses are estimates allocated from the parent), so counts are not directly comparable between institutions. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Full-time faculty by tenure status (24 full-time instructional staff, fall 2024)

Tenured0% (0)
On the tenure track0% (0)
Not on the tenure track or no tenure system100% (24)
Without faculty status0% (0)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey, full-time instructional staff by faculty and tenure status (fall 2024; provisional), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Only full-time instructional staff are counted, so part-time instructors (adjuncts) do not appear here and the figures do not show who teaches any particular class. “Not on the tenure track” includes schools with no tenure system and staff on contracts. A larger share of tenured or tenure-track faculty is not a sign of a better or worse school. MajorPays does not rank schools. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Acceptance rate is admitted ÷ applicants; yield rate is enrolled ÷ admitted. Graduation rate is completers within 150% of normal program time ÷ the adjusted cohort size. From IPEDS Admissions (ADM), Graduation Rates (GR), and Fall Enrollment (EF) survey components. Completion within 8 years is from the IPEDS Outcome Measures (OM) component: the share of degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates who started in 2016-17 and earned any award from this school within eight years, counting part-time and transfer-in students that the standard graduation rate leaves out; the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

📈

Outcomes after enrolling

What students earned and how they repaid federal loans, from the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard.

Median earnings, 6 years after entry

$29,768

Median earnings, 8 years after entry

$31,797

Median earnings, 10 years after entry

$35,447

Sample: 244 students

Middle half: $19,512–$49,666

Median earnings 10 years after entry, by gender

Women$38,909
Men$32,369

Earnings differ by gender for many reasons besides the school, such as the fields students choose and the jobs they take. From the College Scorecard; students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled.

Share earning more than a typical high school graduate

6 years after entry49%
8 years after entry52%
10 years after entry59%

From the U.S. Dept. of Education’s College Scorecard: the share of students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled who earned more than the Department’s threshold for a typical high school graduate, measured 6, 8 and 10 years after they first enrolled (students who entered about 2013 to 2015 for the 6-year figure and about 2009 to 2011 for the 10-year figure; see the Scorecard data documentation for how the threshold is set). It is a share of students, not a measure of how much they earn, and it depends heavily on who enrolls and where they live. MajorPays does not rank schools. The Department has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

19% of first-time, full-time students transferred to another school within 150% of normal time. Transfer rate: the share of full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking students who transferred to another school within 150% of normal time (IPEDS Graduation Rates, pooled years, as published in the College Scorecard); students who transfer out are not counted as graduates of this school. Schools report transfers out only when preparing students to transfer is part of their mission, so many schools show none.

Undergraduates with a Pell Grant

52%

Undergraduates with a federal loan

0%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard (institution-level data, June 2026 release), licensed under Creative Commons Attribution. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these measures; the Department has not endorsed them. Earnings are for students who received federal financial aid and were working and not enrolled 6, 8 and 10 years after first entering the school; family income groups are thirds of students' reported family income. Repayment shows undergraduate federal loan borrowers by status after entering repayment (deferment and forbearance are combined). The monthly amount on the debt card is the Department's calculation of a standard 10-year payment at 4.99% interest on the median federal debt of students who completed; actual payments depend on the repayment plan. A dash means the value is not published, often because too few students were in the group.

Earnings and debt by program

Associate degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities67—$47,925—

Bachelor's degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations16$25,182$58,804—

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study data (June 2026 release; Creative Commons Attribution license; MajorPays selected and reorganized the figures). Earnings are the median for graduates who were working and not enrolled in more school, 1 year after finishing (graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20, in 2022 dollars) and 4 years after (graduates of 2014-15 and 2015-16, in 2021 dollars); debt is the median federal Stafford and Grad PLUS loan debt of graduates who borrowed, including loans taken at other schools (Parent PLUS and private loans are not included; graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20). A dash means the Department did not publish the figure, usually because the group was small. The counts of degrees awarded are awards in 2020-21, a different year from the graduates measured for earnings and debt, and are awards, not people. Programs are grouped by the Department’s four-digit program codes, listed alphabetically within each degree level, not ranked. Earnings and debt differ for many reasons besides the program, such as the students’ backgrounds and the local job market, and the earlier cohorts predate recent changes. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation. MajorPays does not provide advice.

🏷️

Cost

Tuition, net price, and how it's changed over time.

Tuition & fees

$4,365

Most recent year: 2024

Net price

$4,048

Most recent year: 2023

Cost of attendance, on campus

$14,359

2024-25 published charges: Tuition & fees $4,365 + books $1,032 + room & board $5,500 + other $3,462

Net price by family income (average price after grants and scholarships)

$0 to $30,000$2,630
$30,001 to $48,000$2,952
$48,001 to $75,000$3,709
$75,001 to $110,000$8,610

Net price by family income is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates who received federal aid, by family income bracket (College Scorecard, most recent year). Brackets with few students can look out of order; read them as rough guides.

Tuition & fees trend

$3k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$5k
$7k
$4k
$4k
$4k
$4k
2009201020112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Affordability & Transparency Center (CATC)

Net price trend

$4k
$7k
$5k
$6k
$7k
$6k
$4k
$9k
$5k
$9k
$7k
$5k
$3k
$10k
$4k
2008200920102011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Affordability & Transparency Center (CATC)

Tuition & fees is the institution's published sticker price; net price is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates receiving aid (lags tuition by one year in CATC's own reporting).

Cost of attendance adds the school’s published charges for tuition and fees (in-state), books and supplies, room and board, and other expenses for a full-time undergraduate in 2024-25 (provisional data). It is a sticker total, not what a student pays after grants and scholarships. From the NCES IPEDS Cost component (2024-25 data are provisional); the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

💰

Financial aid

Grants and loans received by full-time first-year students.

Received any aid

86.0%

Most recent year: 2024

Pell grants

71.0%

of students received one

Average award: $5,219

Federal grants

71.0%

of students received one

Average award: $5,237

Student loans

0.0%

of students took one out

Share of students receiving any aid

78.0%
86.0%
24.0%
100.0%
100.0%
86.0%
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS (Student Financial Aid)

Cohort is full-time, first-time undergraduates (a typical incoming class), not the whole student body. Pell grants are federal need-based grants for lower-income students; federal grants also includes Pell. Averages are among students who received that type of aid.

Links from the school

Admissions office · How to apply · Financial aid office · Net price calculator

Web addresses the school itself reported to the U.S. Dept. of Education (IPEDS directory, 2024-25). MajorPays does not control these sites and cannot vouch for them; the addresses may be out of date. Always check the school’s own site for current prices and deadlines. MajorPays does not provide advice.

📊

Finances

Revenue, expenses, and financial indicators.

Core revenue

$28,587,420

Most recent year: 2024

Core expense

$30,442,232

Total operating expense

Instruction spending

$12,510

Per FTE student

Endowment

—

Not reported for this institution

Equity ratio

76.0%

Equity divided by total assets

Reported as a public institution, GASB accounting standard. Core revenue/expense are total operating figures (not per-student). Equity ratio is the share of total assets financed by equity rather than debt (shown only between -100% and 100%; what is typical varies a lot by sector, and this is not a judgment of the institution). From IPEDS Finance survey component.

👥

Staffing

Faculty salary and staff counts (full-time equivalent).

Total staff

156

Full-time equivalent

Instructional staff

33

Full-time equivalent

Average salary is equated to a 9-month contract for full-time instructional staff. FTE (full-time equivalent) staff counts combine full- and part-time staff into a single comparable headcount. From IPEDS Human Resources survey component.