Search other schools on the interactive institution profile tool → · See Northcentral University's graduate earnings by major →

N

Northcentral University

San Diego, CA | OPEID: 03813300

Private nonprofit4-year or aboveLarge cityOnline onlyAccredited by Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
🎓

Admissions & graduation

Selectivity, enrollment, and graduation outcomes.

Acceptance rate

—

Not reported

Enrolled, first-time

—

Not reported

Graduation rate

—

Not reported

Completion within 8 years, all students

44%

Students who started in 2016-17 (71), including part-time and transfer students

Student-to-faculty ratio

1:1

Most recent year: 2024

Who enrolls (fall 2024, all 9,489 students)

By gender

Women73% (6,950)
Men27% (2,539)

By race and ethnicity

Black or African American31% (2,981)
White31% (2,933)
Race and ethnicity unknown16% (1,483)
Hispanic or Latino13% (1,243)
Two or more races4% (388)
Asian4% (337)
American Indian or Alaska Native1% (65)
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander1% (59)

Undergraduates: 60 (78% women) · Graduate students: 9,429 (73% women)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment (EF) survey, fall 2024 headcount of all enrolled students. IPEDS reports gender as men and women and race and ethnicity in federal categories; nonresident students are not classified by race. Online learning counts students taking distance-education courses in fall 2024 (IPEDS Fall Enrollment, distance education). These figures describe who enrolls, not how any group fares at the school. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

Over the 2023-24 year, 12,994 different students were enrolled at some point. Source: NCES IPEDS 12-month Enrollment, 2023-24 (every student enrolled at any time during the year, counted once; high school students are counted in the total; provisional data). A count of people enrolled, not a measure of quality.

Total enrollment trend (fall headcount)

11k
12k
13k
12k
11k
9.5k
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS Fall Enrollment, total headcount of all students each fall (2019 to 2024; the 2024 figure is provisional). A school that merges, adds or closes a campus, or changes which campuses it reports together, can show a sudden jump that is not a change in students.

Degrees awarded trend

1.9k
1.8k
1.9k
1.9k
1.7k
1.8k
2018-192019-202020-212021-222022-232023-24

Source: NCES IPEDS Completions, degrees awarded each academic year (associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral, first majors; 2023-24 is a provisional release): the number of awards, not of people, and not a measure of quality. A school that merges, adds or closes a campus, or changes which campuses it reports together, can show a sudden jump that is not a change in students.

Who attends and how they fare

First-generation students

44%

Of students who received federal aid

Part-time undergraduates

85%

Share of undergraduates

Undergraduates age 25 or older

91%

Share of undergraduates

Median family income

$21,114

Students who received federal aid

Loan repayment, 3 years

33%

Borrowers who repaid at least $1 of principal

From the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (Creative Commons Attribution), most recent release. Retention is the share of first-time, full-time students who return the next fall. First-generation share and median family income describe students who received federal aid. Repayment is the share of student borrowers who had repaid at least $1 of their loan principal within three years of entering repayment, not the share who paid in full. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these figures; the Department of Education has not endorsed them.

Campus and admissions policies

Academic calendar

Other academic year

Offered: Employment services for students

From the IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (2024-25 collection, provisional; housing, meal plan and application fee from the Cost component). Open admission means the school admits students without selective criteria for most programs. Services and opportunities are those the school reported offering. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays’ presentation.

How old students are (fall 2024)

Undergraduates

20 to 243% (2)
25 to 3439% (23)
35 and older58% (34)

Graduate students

20 to 241% (105)
25 to 3424% (2,254)
35 and older75% (6,960)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (enrollment by age, fall 2024; the age component is collected in full only in odd years, so some schools show fall 2023), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES; students of unknown age are left out and levels with fewer than 30 students are not shown. Undergraduates under 20 can include high school students taking college courses. The counts describe who enrolls, and the Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Who earns degrees here (degrees awarded 2023-24)

Master's degrees: 913
Women78% (709)
Men22% (204)
White37% (339)
Black or African American33% (299)
Hispanic or Latino12% (113)
Race and ethnicity unknown9% (84)
Two or more races4% (36)
Asian3% (28)
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander1% (8)
American Indian or Alaska Native1% (6)
Doctoral degrees (research, professional and other): 894
Women71% (639)
Men29% (255)
White35% (314)
Black or African American34% (304)
Race and ethnicity unknown15% (131)
Hispanic or Latino9% (79)
Two or more races3% (29)
Asian3% (26)
American Indian or Alaska Native1% (6)
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander1% (5)

From the IPEDS Completions survey (awards and degrees conferred, academic year 2023-24, provisional release that includes estimates for institutions that did not respond), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES; first majors only, so a graduate with two majors is counted once. Levels with fewer than 30 degrees, and race and ethnicity groups with fewer than 5 degrees, are not shown. IPEDS reports gender as men and women and race and ethnicity in federal categories; nonresident students are not classified by race. These counts describe who earns degrees here, not how any group fares, and MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

What is studied here (degrees awarded 2023-24, by broad field; the largest fields at each level)

Master's degrees (913 awarded)

Health Professions and Related Programs33.3% (304)
Psychology28.3% (258)
Education17.5% (160)
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services11.6% (106)
Public Administration and Social Service Professions4.4% (40)
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services4.2% (38)
All other fields0.8% (7)

Doctoral degrees (research, professional and other) (894 awarded)

Education46.5% (416)
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services26.6% (238)
Psychology9.3% (83)
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services7.6% (68)
Health Professions and Related Programs6.0% (54)
Legal Professions and Studies2.0% (18)
All other fields1.9% (17)

From the IPEDS Completions survey (degrees conferred July 2023 to June 2024, first majors only, provisional release that includes estimates for institutions that did not respond), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES, grouped by the 2-digit field families of the Classification of Instructional Programs 2020. A level is shown only when at least 30 degrees were awarded, and fields with fewer than 5 degrees are included only in "All other fields". Degrees awarded are counts of awards, not of people, and say nothing about the quality of a program. MajorPays does not rank institutions or programs and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Acceptance rate is admitted ÷ applicants; yield rate is enrolled ÷ admitted. Graduation rate is completers within 150% of normal program time ÷ the adjusted cohort size. From IPEDS Admissions (ADM), Graduation Rates (GR), and Fall Enrollment (EF) survey components. Completion within 8 years is from the IPEDS Outcome Measures (OM) component: the share of degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates who started in 2016-17 and earned any award from this school within eight years, counting part-time and transfer-in students that the standard graduation rate leaves out; the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

📈

Outcomes after enrolling

What students earned and how they repaid federal loans, from the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard.

Median earnings, 6 years after entry

$46,759

Median earnings, 8 years after entry

$43,080

Median earnings, 10 years after entry

$48,414

Sample: 267 students

Middle half: $24,212–$73,253

Median earnings 10 years after entry, by gender

Women$43,839
Men$63,080

Earnings differ by gender for many reasons besides the school, such as the fields students choose and the jobs they take. From the College Scorecard; students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled.

Share earning more than a typical high school graduate

6 years after entry72%
8 years after entry69%
10 years after entry69%

From the U.S. Dept. of Education’s College Scorecard: the share of students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled who earned more than the Department’s threshold for a typical high school graduate, measured 6, 8 and 10 years after they first enrolled (students who entered about 2013 to 2015 for the 6-year figure and about 2009 to 2011 for the 10-year figure; see the Scorecard data documentation for how the threshold is set). It is a share of students, not a measure of how much they earn, and it depends heavily on who enrolls and where they live. MajorPays does not rank schools. The Department has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Median earnings 10 years after entry, by family income

Family income $0–30,000$38,906
$30,001–75,000$59,520
$75,001 and up$61,082

Median debt of graduates

$12,500

Federal loans

About $133 a month over 10 years at 4.99%

Undergraduates with a Pell Grant

38%

Undergraduates with a federal loan

45%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard (institution-level data, June 2026 release), licensed under Creative Commons Attribution. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these measures; the Department has not endorsed them. Earnings are for students who received federal financial aid and were working and not enrolled 6, 8 and 10 years after first entering the school; family income groups are thirds of students' reported family income. Repayment shows undergraduate federal loan borrowers by status after entering repayment (deferment and forbearance are combined). The monthly amount on the debt card is the Department's calculation of a standard 10-year payment at 4.99% interest on the median federal debt of students who completed; actual payments depend on the repayment plan. A dash means the value is not published, often because too few students were in the group.

Earnings and debt by program

Bachelor's degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Psychology, General17——$42,500

Master's degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations128$60,729$73,426—
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology161$45,417$52,083—
Computer and Information Sciences, General15$78,410——
Education, General159$53,054$59,632—
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions216$45,211$57,016—
Psychology, General84$47,483$59,004—

Doctoral degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations174$96,209$105,744—
Education, General310$71,811$80,493—
Psychology, General54$80,136$85,657—

Graduate and professional certificates

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Education, General113$49,816$61,131—

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study data (June 2026 release; Creative Commons Attribution license; MajorPays selected and reorganized the figures). Earnings are the median for graduates who were working and not enrolled in more school, 1 year after finishing (graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20, in 2022 dollars) and 4 years after (graduates of 2014-15 and 2015-16, in 2021 dollars); debt is the median federal Stafford and Grad PLUS loan debt of graduates who borrowed, including loans taken at other schools (Parent PLUS and private loans are not included; graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20). A dash means the Department did not publish the figure, usually because the group was small. The counts of degrees awarded are awards in 2020-21, a different year from the graduates measured for earnings and debt, and are awards, not people. Programs are grouped by the Department’s four-digit program codes, listed alphabetically within each degree level, not ranked. Earnings and debt differ for many reasons besides the program, such as the students’ backgrounds and the local job market, and the earlier cohorts predate recent changes. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation. MajorPays does not provide advice.

🏷️

Cost

Tuition, net price, and how it's changed over time.

Tuition & fees

$8,808

Most recent year: 2011

Net price

$24,198

Most recent year: 2010

Graduate tuition & fees

$17,998

Full-time, 2024-25 published charges

Tuition & fees trend

$8k
$9k
2009201020112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Affordability & Transparency Center (CATC)

Tuition & fees is the institution's published sticker price; net price is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates receiving aid (lags tuition by one year in CATC's own reporting).

Cost of attendance adds the school’s published charges for tuition and fees (in-state), books and supplies, room and board, and other expenses for a full-time undergraduate in 2024-25 (provisional data). It is a sticker total, not what a student pays after grants and scholarships. From the NCES IPEDS Cost component (2024-25 data are provisional); the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

💰

Financial aid

Grants and loans received by full-time first-year students.

Not reported.

Veterans and service members (2023-24)

437 students received Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits ($8,887 on average, $3.9 million in all); 11 received Department of Defense tuition assistance ($1,477 on average).

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES, IPEDS Student Financial Aid component, Military Service and Veteran’s Benefits (academic year 2023-24; reported by each school; shown when at least 10 students received the benefit). Recipients can include spouses and dependents, and Yellow Ribbon matching aid is not included. These are counts of students and dollars, not a rating of how a school treats veterans or service members, and they do not say who may enroll. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation. MajorPays does not provide advice.

Links from the school

Admissions office · How to apply · Financial aid office · Net price calculator · Veterans’ benefits

Web addresses the school itself reported to the U.S. Dept. of Education (IPEDS directory, 2024-25). MajorPays does not control these sites and cannot vouch for them; the addresses may be out of date. Always check the school’s own site for current prices and deadlines. MajorPays does not provide advice.

📊

Finances

Revenue, expenses, and financial indicators.

Core revenue

$46,357,900

Most recent year: 2024

Core expense

$49,919,600

Total operating expense

Instruction spending

$1,881

Per FTE student

Endowment

$16,449

Per FTE student

Equity ratio

75.0%

Equity divided by total assets

Reported as a private nonprofit institution, FASB accounting standard. Core revenue/expense are total operating figures (not per-student). Equity ratio is the share of total assets financed by equity rather than debt (shown only between -100% and 100%; what is typical varies a lot by sector, and this is not a judgment of the institution). From IPEDS Finance survey component.

👥

Staffing

Faculty salary and staff counts (full-time equivalent).

Average faculty salary

$85,087

All ranks, 2024

Professor: $93,241
Associate: $73,620
Assistant: $74,321
Instructor: $62,973

Total staff

0

Full-time equivalent

Instructional staff

0

Full-time equivalent

Average salary is equated to a 9-month contract for full-time instructional staff. FTE (full-time equivalent) staff counts combine full- and part-time staff into a single comparable headcount. From IPEDS Human Resources survey component.