Search other schools on the interactive institution profile tool → · See Miami Lakes Educational Center and Technical College's graduate earnings by major →

M

Miami Lakes Educational Center and Technical College

Miami Lakes, FL | OPEID: 02316200

Public2-yearLarge suburbAccredited by Council on Occupational Education
🎓

Admissions & graduation

Selectivity, enrollment, and graduation outcomes.

Acceptance rate

—

Not reported

Enrolled, first-time

—

Not reported

Graduation rate

4.5%

3-year cohort, 2024; 462 students

Student-to-faculty ratio

13:1

Most recent year: 2024

Graduation rate by group (3-year rate, degree and certificate-seeking students who started in 2021; students in each group in parentheses)

By race and ethnicity

Black or African American4% (248)
Hispanic or Latino6% (160)

By aid received

Received a Pell Grant0% (85)
Neither Pell nor subsidized loan6% (377)
All students5% (462)

From IPEDS Graduation Rates (GR) and the Pell Grant / Direct Subsidized Loan graduation-rate component, 2024-25 collection. Rate is completers within 150% of normal program time divided by the adjusted cohort. Groups with fewer than 30 students are not shown. The headline graduation rate above comes from a different IPEDS file with a slightly different cohort definition, so an all-students figure here can differ from it by a point or two. Differences between groups reflect many things besides the school itself, such as who enrolls and how much support students have.

Who enrolls (fall 2024, all 665 students)

By gender

Women34% (225)
Men66% (440)

By race and ethnicity

Hispanic or Latino48% (320)
Black or African American41% (270)
Nonresident (international students)6% (38)
White4% (27)
Asian1% (6)
Two or more races0% (3)
American Indian or Alaska Native0% (1)

Undergraduates: 665 (34% women)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment (EF) survey, fall 2024 headcount of all enrolled students. IPEDS reports gender as men and women and race and ethnicity in federal categories; nonresident students are not classified by race. Online learning counts students taking distance-education courses in fall 2024 (IPEDS Fall Enrollment, distance education). These figures describe who enrolls, not how any group fares at the school. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

Over the 2023-24 year, 1,566 different students were enrolled at some point, including 716 high school students taking college courses. Source: NCES IPEDS 12-month Enrollment, 2023-24 (every student enrolled at any time during the year, counted once; high school students are counted in the total; provisional data). A count of people enrolled, not a measure of quality.

Total enrollment trend (fall headcount)

1.0k
799
896
850
730
665
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS Fall Enrollment, total headcount of all students each fall (2019 to 2024; the 2024 figure is provisional). A school that merges, adds or closes a campus, or changes which campuses it reports together, can show a sudden jump that is not a change in students.

Graduation rate trend

55%
12%
2%
5%
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS Graduation Rates, the share of each entering class that completed a bachelor’s degree (four-year schools) or any award (two-year schools) within 150% of normal time (6 or 3 years); the entering class is six or three years before the survey year shown; the 2024 figure is provisional; less-than-two-year schools are not included

Who attends and how they fare

Students who return for year two

100%

Full-time retention rate

First-generation students

57%

Of students who received federal aid

Part-time undergraduates

72%

Share of undergraduates

Undergraduates age 25 or older

23%

Share of undergraduates

Median family income

$17,084

Students who received federal aid

From the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (Creative Commons Attribution), most recent release. Retention is the share of first-time, full-time students who return the next fall. First-generation share and median family income describe students who received federal aid. Repayment is the share of student borrowers who had repaid at least $1 of their loan principal within three years of entering repayment, not the share who paid in full. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these figures; the Department of Education has not endorsed them.

Campus and admissions policies

Admission policy

Open admission

Admits students without selective criteria for most programs

Undergraduate application fee

$20

Academic calendar

Differs by program

Offered: Weekend or evening college · Employment services for students · Job placement for graduates

From the IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (2024-25 collection, provisional; housing, meal plan and application fee from the Cost component). Open admission means the school admits students without selective criteria for most programs. Services and opportunities are those the school reported offering. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays’ presentation.

What happens to students over time (students who first received federal aid here in 2015-16)

4 years later

Finished here 10.1%; Finished at another school 14.4%; Still enrolled (here or elsewhere) 7.4%; No completion recorded 63.4%

From the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (student outcomes by years after entry). The group is students who first received federal student aid (a Pell Grant or federal loan) at this school in 2015-16, followed for four years, so it does not cover every student and says nothing about students who started later or earlier; older groups are not shown because the Department reports data-quality problems for students who began before July 2015. Students for whom the school reported no completion record are counted by the Department as not completing, so "No completion recorded" includes missing records as well as students who left; small groups are suppressed, so the parts may not total 100%, and where the shown parts total less than 90% the row is left out. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

How old students are (fall 2023)

Undergraduates

Under 2066% (479)
20 to 2412% (86)
25 to 3411% (80)
35 and older12% (85)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (enrollment by age, fall 2023; the age component is collected in full only in odd years, so some schools show fall 2023), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES; students of unknown age are left out and levels with fewer than 30 students are not shown. Undergraduates under 20 can include high school students taking college courses. The counts describe who enrolls, and the Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Where first-year students come from (fall 2024; 107 first-time undergraduates with a known residence)

From the same state100% (107)
From other U.S. states0% (0)
From other countries0% (0)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey, residence of first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates (the most recent collection each school reported; students whose residence was not reported are left out). It describes where new students lived when first admitted. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays’ presentation.

Program prices (published for 2023-24, largest programs first)

ProgramLengthTuition and feesBooks and supplies
Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Engineering Technology/Technician750 clock hours (8 months)$2,340$450
Truck and Bus Driver/Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor750 clock hours (8 months)$2,340$450
Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training320 clock hours (3 months)$2,340$0
Medical/Clinical Assistant1,350 clock hours (14 months)$4,836$850
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications1,300 clock hours (13 months)$3,528$650
Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician900 clock hours (24 months)$3,024$35

Published tuition and fees for the largest program: $2,160 in 2020-21, $2,480 in 2021-22, $2,340 in 2022-23, $2,340 in 2023-24.

From the IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey, price of attendance for institutions whose programs are measured in clock or credit hours (2023-24), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Prices are what the institution published for entering students in its largest programs, before any grants or scholarships; programs are listed with the largest first. The length of a program is as the institution reports it, in clock hours (contact time) or credit hours. Some values are estimates for institutions that did not report. A dash means the school did not report the figure; a field may be listed more than once when a school offers it at different lengths or award types (the survey does not say which); prices are as reported by each institution and may contain errors. A published price is not what any student pays and says nothing about program quality or job outcomes. MajorPays does not rank institutions or programs and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Graduation rate by financial aid (students who entered in 2021, within 150% of normal time)

Pell Grant recipients0% (85 students)
Neither a Pell Grant nor a Direct Subsidized Loan6% (377 students)

From the IPEDS Graduation Rates survey (Pell Grant and Direct Subsidized Loan status), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES: full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates who entered in the cohort year shown, the share who completed a degree or certificate within 150% of normal time as of August 31, 2024 (provisional data). At four-year schools this includes students seeking associate degrees and certificates, so the rates can differ from the bachelor’s-degree graduation rate shown above. Pell Grants go to students from lower-income families; a Direct Subsidized Loan is a need-based federal loan. A group is shown only when it had at least 30 students. The groups differ in many ways besides aid, and a gap here does not by itself show how well a school serves any group. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Where the money goes (expenses, 2023-24)

Total expenses

$6.4 million

2023-24, all purposes

Instruction spending per student

$6,602

498 full-time-equivalent students; includes departmental research and medical instruction not budgeted separately

Instruction51.2%
Research0.0%
Public service0.0%
Academic support12.7%
Student services12.3%
Institutional support13.7%
All other (scholarships and grant aid, auxiliary enterprises, hospitals, independent operations and other)10.1%

From the IPEDS Finance survey (2023-24; forms F1A, F2 or F3 depending on the accounting standard the institution follows) and IPEDS 12-month enrollment (full-time-equivalent students), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Shares are each function as a share of total expenses. Some institutions report finances for several campuses together (their students are added together here), and some values are estimates for institutions that did not report. Institutions with hospitals, large research programs or auxiliary enterprises spend much of their money outside instruction, and accounting rules differ between public and private institutions, so figures are not directly comparable between institutions. Spending is not a measure of quality. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Who works here (staff in full-time equivalents, fall 2024)

Full-time-equivalent staff

103

employees on the payroll, fall 2024, including medical school staff; graduate assistants not counted

Instruction, research and public service35.9% (37)
Librarians, archivists, student and academic affairs and other education services5.8% (6)
Management4.9% (5)
Business and financial operations3.9% (4)
Computer, engineering and science0.0% (0)
Community service, legal, arts and media1.9% (2)
Healthcare practitioners and technical7.8% (8)
All other (service including healthcare support, office, maintenance, sales, production)38.8% (40)

From the IPEDS Human Resources survey (full-time-equivalent staff by occupational category, fall 2024), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Full-time-equivalent staff count each part-time employee as one third of a full-time one; counts include medical school staff where the institution has one but not graduate assistants. Institutions with hospitals, research centers or athletic programs employ many people outside teaching, and some campuses report together (figures for child campuses are estimates allocated from the parent), so counts are not directly comparable between institutions. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Acceptance rate is admitted ÷ applicants; yield rate is enrolled ÷ admitted. Graduation rate is completers within 150% of normal program time ÷ the adjusted cohort size. From IPEDS Admissions (ADM), Graduation Rates (GR), and Fall Enrollment (EF) survey components. Completion within 8 years is from the IPEDS Outcome Measures (OM) component: the share of degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates who started in 2016-17 and earned any award from this school within eight years, counting part-time and transfer-in students that the standard graduation rate leaves out; the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

📈

Outcomes after enrolling

What students earned and how they repaid federal loans, from the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard.

Median earnings, 6 years after entry

$35,651

Median earnings, 8 years after entry

$35,574

Median earnings, 10 years after entry

$35,014

Sample: 536 students

Middle half: $16,880–$56,469

Median earnings 10 years after entry, by gender

Women$32,765
Men$37,760

Earnings differ by gender for many reasons besides the school, such as the fields students choose and the jobs they take. From the College Scorecard; students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled.

Share earning more than a typical high school graduate

6 years after entry58%
8 years after entry58%
10 years after entry56%

From the U.S. Dept. of Education’s College Scorecard: the share of students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled who earned more than the Department’s threshold for a typical high school graduate, measured 6, 8 and 10 years after they first enrolled (students who entered about 2013 to 2015 for the 6-year figure and about 2009 to 2011 for the 10-year figure; see the Scorecard data documentation for how the threshold is set). It is a share of students, not a measure of how much they earn, and it depends heavily on who enrolls and where they live. MajorPays does not rank schools. The Department has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Undergraduates with a Pell Grant

16%

Undergraduates with a federal loan

0%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard (institution-level data, June 2026 release), licensed under Creative Commons Attribution. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these measures; the Department has not endorsed them. Earnings are for students who received federal financial aid and were working and not enrolled 6, 8 and 10 years after first entering the school; family income groups are thirds of students' reported family income. Repayment shows undergraduate federal loan borrowers by status after entering repayment (deferment and forbearance are combined). The monthly amount on the debt card is the Department's calculation of a standard 10-year payment at 4.99% interest on the median federal debt of students who completed; actual payments depend on the repayment plan. A dash means the value is not published, often because too few students were in the group.

🏷️

Cost

Tuition, net price, and how it's changed over time.

Tuition & fees

—

Not reported

Net price

$4,681

Most recent year: 2023

Net price by family income (average price after grants and scholarships)

$0 to $30,000$2,878
$30,001 to $48,000$2,530

Net price by family income is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates who received federal aid, by family income bracket (College Scorecard, most recent year). Brackets with few students can look out of order; read them as rough guides.

Tuition & fees is the institution's published sticker price; net price is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates receiving aid (lags tuition by one year in CATC's own reporting).

💰

Financial aid

Grants and loans received by full-time first-year students.

Received any aid

48.0%

Most recent year: 2024

Pell grants

29.0%

of students received one

Average award: $3,655

Federal grants

30.0%

of students received one

Average award: $3,727

Student loans

0.0%

of students took one out

Share of students receiving any aid

88.0%
98.0%
97.0%
25.0%
51.0%
48.0%
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS (Student Financial Aid)

Cohort is full-time, first-time undergraduates (a typical incoming class), not the whole student body. Pell grants are federal need-based grants for lower-income students; federal grants also includes Pell. Averages are among students who received that type of aid.

Veterans and service members (2023-24)

12 students received Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits ($2,304 on average, $27,652 in all).

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES, IPEDS Student Financial Aid component, Military Service and Veteran’s Benefits (academic year 2023-24; reported by each school; shown when at least 10 students received the benefit). Recipients can include spouses and dependents, and Yellow Ribbon matching aid is not included. These are counts of students and dollars, not a rating of how a school treats veterans or service members, and they do not say who may enroll. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation. MajorPays does not provide advice.

Links from the school

Admissions office · How to apply · Financial aid office · Net price calculator · Veterans’ benefits

Web addresses the school itself reported to the U.S. Dept. of Education (IPEDS directory, 2024-25). MajorPays does not control these sites and cannot vouch for them; the addresses may be out of date. Always check the school’s own site for current prices and deadlines. MajorPays does not provide advice.

📊

Finances

Revenue, expenses, and financial indicators.

Core revenue

$8,098,150

Most recent year: 2024

Core expense

$6,418,987

Total operating expense

Instruction spending

$6,602

Per FTE student

Endowment

—

Not reported for this institution

Equity ratio

—

Equity divided by total assets

Reported as a public institution, GASB accounting standard. Core revenue/expense are total operating figures (not per-student). Equity ratio is the share of total assets financed by equity rather than debt (shown only between -100% and 100%; what is typical varies a lot by sector, and this is not a judgment of the institution). From IPEDS Finance survey component.

👥

Staffing

Faculty salary and staff counts (full-time equivalent).

Total staff

103

Full-time equivalent

Instructional staff

37

Full-time equivalent

Average salary is equated to a 9-month contract for full-time instructional staff. FTE (full-time equivalent) staff counts combine full- and part-time staff into a single comparable headcount. From IPEDS Human Resources survey component.