Search other schools on the interactive institution profile tool → · See Heartland Welding Academy's graduate earnings by major →

H

Heartland Welding Academy

Andover, KS | OPEID: 04304500

Private for-profitLess than 2-yearLarge suburbAccredited by Council on Occupational Education
🎓

Admissions & graduation

Selectivity, enrollment, and graduation outcomes.

Acceptance rate

—

Not reported

Enrolled, first-time

—

Not reported

Graduation rate

91.8%

150% of program time cohort, 2024; 61 students

Student-to-faculty ratio

18:1

Most recent year: 2024

Graduation rate by group (3-year rate, degree and certificate-seeking students who started in 2021; students in each group in parentheses)

By aid received

Neither Pell nor subsidized loan92% (61)
All students92% (61)

From IPEDS Graduation Rates (GR) and the Pell Grant / Direct Subsidized Loan graduation-rate component, 2024-25 collection. Rate is completers within 150% of normal program time divided by the adjusted cohort. Groups with fewer than 30 students are not shown. The headline graduation rate above comes from a different IPEDS file with a slightly different cohort definition, so an all-students figure here can differ from it by a point or two. Differences between groups reflect many things besides the school itself, such as who enrolls and how much support students have.

Who enrolls (fall 2024, all 47 students)

By gender

Women9% (4)
Men91% (43)

By race and ethnicity

White62% (29)
Hispanic or Latino23% (11)
Black or African American9% (4)
Two or more races2% (1)
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander2% (1)
Race and ethnicity unknown2% (1)

Undergraduates: 47 (9% women)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment (EF) survey, fall 2024 headcount of all enrolled students. IPEDS reports gender as men and women and race and ethnicity in federal categories; nonresident students are not classified by race. Online learning counts students taking distance-education courses in fall 2024 (IPEDS Fall Enrollment, distance education). These figures describe who enrolls, not how any group fares at the school. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

Over the 2023-24 year, 68 different students were enrolled at some point. Source: NCES IPEDS 12-month Enrollment, 2023-24 (every student enrolled at any time during the year, counted once; high school students are counted in the total; provisional data). A count of people enrolled, not a measure of quality.

Who attends and how they fare

Part-time undergraduates

0%

Share of undergraduates

Undergraduates age 25 or older

32%

Share of undergraduates

From the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (Creative Commons Attribution), most recent release. Retention is the share of first-time, full-time students who return the next fall. First-generation share and median family income describe students who received federal aid. Repayment is the share of student borrowers who had repaid at least $1 of their loan principal within three years of entering repayment, not the share who paid in full. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these figures; the Department of Education has not endorsed them.

Campus and admissions policies

Admission policy

Open admission

Admits students without selective criteria for most programs

Undergraduate application fee

$75

Academic calendar

Continuous

Offered: Weekend or evening college · Job placement for graduates

From the IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (2024-25 collection, provisional; housing, meal plan and application fee from the Cost component). Open admission means the school admits students without selective criteria for most programs. Services and opportunities are those the school reported offering. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays’ presentation.

How old students are (fall 2024)

Undergraduates

Under 2030% (14)
20 to 2426% (12)
25 to 3428% (13)
35 and older17% (8)

From the IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (enrollment by age, fall 2024; the age component is collected in full only in odd years, so some schools show fall 2023), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES; students of unknown age are left out and levels with fewer than 30 students are not shown. Undergraduates under 20 can include high school students taking college courses. The counts describe who enrolls, and the Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Program prices (published for 2023-24, largest programs first)

ProgramLengthTuition and feesBooks and supplies
Welding Technology/Welder720 clock hours (6 months)$9,300$6,600
Welding Technology/Welder360 clock hours (3 months)$4,800$3,850

Published tuition and fees for the largest program: $8,500 in 2020-21, $9,100 in 2021-22, $9,300 in 2022-23, $9,300 in 2023-24.

From the IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey, price of attendance for institutions whose programs are measured in clock or credit hours (2023-24), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Prices are what the institution published for entering students in its largest programs, before any grants or scholarships; programs are listed with the largest first. The length of a program is as the institution reports it, in clock hours (contact time) or credit hours. Some values are estimates for institutions that did not report. A dash means the school did not report the figure; a field may be listed more than once when a school offers it at different lengths or award types (the survey does not say which); prices are as reported by each institution and may contain errors. A published price is not what any student pays and says nothing about program quality or job outcomes. MajorPays does not rank institutions or programs and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Where the money goes (expenses, 2023-24)

Total expenses

$0.2 million

2023-24, all purposes

Instruction81.6%
Research0.0%
Public service0.0%
Academic support0.0%
Student services0.0%
Institutional support18.4%
All other (scholarships and grant aid, auxiliary enterprises, hospitals, independent operations and other)0.0%

From the IPEDS Finance survey (2023-24; forms F1A, F2 or F3 depending on the accounting standard the institution follows) and IPEDS 12-month enrollment (full-time-equivalent students), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Shares are each function as a share of total expenses. Some institutions report finances for several campuses together (their students are added together here), and some values are estimates for institutions that did not report. Institutions with hospitals, large research programs or auxiliary enterprises spend much of their money outside instruction, and accounting rules differ between public and private institutions, so figures are not directly comparable between institutions. Spending is not a measure of quality. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Acceptance rate is admitted ÷ applicants; yield rate is enrolled ÷ admitted. Graduation rate is completers within 150% of normal program time ÷ the adjusted cohort size. From IPEDS Admissions (ADM), Graduation Rates (GR), and Fall Enrollment (EF) survey components. Completion within 8 years is from the IPEDS Outcome Measures (OM) component: the share of degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates who started in 2016-17 and earned any award from this school within eight years, counting part-time and transfer-in students that the standard graduation rate leaves out; the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

📈

Outcomes after enrolling

What students earned and how they repaid federal loans, from the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard.

Undergraduates with a Pell Grant

49%

Undergraduates with a federal loan

49%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard (institution-level data, June 2026 release), licensed under Creative Commons Attribution. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these measures; the Department has not endorsed them. Earnings are for students who received federal financial aid and were working and not enrolled 6, 8 and 10 years after first entering the school; family income groups are thirds of students' reported family income. Repayment shows undergraduate federal loan borrowers by status after entering repayment (deferment and forbearance are combined). The monthly amount on the debt card is the Department's calculation of a standard 10-year payment at 4.99% interest on the median federal debt of students who completed; actual payments depend on the repayment plan. A dash means the value is not published, often because too few students were in the group.

🏷️

Cost

Tuition, net price, and how it's changed over time.

Tuition & fees

—

Not reported

Net price

$19,304

Most recent year: 2023

Net price by family income (average price after grants and scholarships)

$0 to $30,000$18,843
$30,001 to $48,000$17,941
$48,001 to $75,000$21,400
$75,001 to $110,000$21,795
Over $110,000$22,478

Net price by family income is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates who received federal aid, by family income bracket (College Scorecard, most recent year). Brackets with few students can look out of order; read them as rough guides.

Tuition & fees is the institution's published sticker price; net price is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates receiving aid (lags tuition by one year in CATC's own reporting).

💰

Financial aid

Grants and loans received by full-time first-year students.

Received any aid

64.0%

Most recent year: 2024

Pell grants

45.0%

of students received one

Average award: $3,197

Federal grants

45.0%

of students received one

Average award: $3,197

Student loans

56.0%

of students took one out

Average amount: $6,474

Share of students receiving any aid

41.0%
64.0%
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS (Student Financial Aid)

Cohort is full-time, first-time undergraduates (a typical incoming class), not the whole student body. Pell grants are federal need-based grants for lower-income students; federal grants also includes Pell. Averages are among students who received that type of aid.

Links from the school

Net price calculator · Veterans’ benefits

Web addresses the school itself reported to the U.S. Dept. of Education (IPEDS directory, 2024-25). MajorPays does not control these sites and cannot vouch for them; the addresses may be out of date. Always check the school’s own site for current prices and deadlines. MajorPays does not provide advice.

📊

Finances

Revenue, expenses, and financial indicators.

Core revenue

$574,036

Most recent year: 2024

Core expense

$162,480

Total operating expense

Instruction spending

$4,141

Per FTE student

Endowment

—

Not reported for this institution

Equity ratio

—

Equity divided by total assets

Reported as a private for-profit institution. Core revenue/expense are total operating figures (not per-student). Equity ratio is the share of total assets financed by equity rather than debt (shown only between -100% and 100%; what is typical varies a lot by sector, and this is not a judgment of the institution). From IPEDS Finance survey component.

👥

Staffing

Faculty salary and staff counts (full-time equivalent).

Total staff

4

Full-time equivalent

Instructional staff

2

Full-time equivalent

Average salary is equated to a 9-month contract for full-time instructional staff. FTE (full-time equivalent) staff counts combine full- and part-time staff into a single comparable headcount. From IPEDS Human Resources survey component.