Search other schools on the interactive institution profile tool → · See Centura College-Virginia Beach's graduate earnings by major →

C

Centura College-Virginia Beach

Virginia Beach, VA | OPEID: 02334400

Private for-profit2-yearLarge cityAccredited by Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
🎓

Admissions & graduation

Selectivity, enrollment, and graduation outcomes.

Acceptance rate

—

Not reported

Enrolled, first-time

—

Not reported

Graduation rate

—

Fewer than 30 students in the cohort

Completion within 8 years, all students

66%

Students who started in 2016-17 (188), including part-time and transfer students

First-time, full-time students: 68% (85)

Student-to-faculty ratio

7:1

Most recent year: 2023

Who attends and how they fare

First-generation students

52%

Of students who received federal aid

Undergraduates age 25 or older

63%

Share of undergraduates

Median family income

$14,317

Students who received federal aid

Loan repayment, 3 years

15%

Borrowers who repaid at least $1 of principal

From the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (Creative Commons Attribution), most recent release. Retention is the share of first-time, full-time students who return the next fall. First-generation share and median family income describe students who received federal aid. Repayment is the share of student borrowers who had repaid at least $1 of their loan principal within three years of entering repayment, not the share who paid in full. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these figures; the Department of Education has not endorsed them.

Campus and admissions policies

Admission policy

Open admission

Admits students without selective criteria for most programs

Undergraduate application fee

$25

Academic calendar

Semester

Offered: Weekend or evening college · Employment services for students · Job placement for graduates

From the IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (2024-25 collection, provisional; housing, meal plan and application fee from the Cost component). Open admission means the school admits students without selective criteria for most programs. Services and opportunities are those the school reported offering. The Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays’ presentation.

What happens to students over time (students who first received federal aid here in 2015-16)

4 years later

Finished here 56.1%; Finished at another school 4.3%; No completion recorded 35.6%

From the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (student outcomes by years after entry). The group is students who first received federal student aid (a Pell Grant or federal loan) at this school in 2015-16, followed for four years, so it does not cover every student and says nothing about students who started later or earlier; older groups are not shown because the Department reports data-quality problems for students who began before July 2015. Students for whom the school reported no completion record are counted by the Department as not completing, so "No completion recorded" includes missing records as well as students who left; small groups are suppressed, so the parts may not total 100%, and where the shown parts total less than 90% the row is left out. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Where the money goes (expenses, 2023-24)

Total expenses

$1.3 million

2023-24, all purposes

Instruction27.4%
Research0.0%
Public service0.0%
Academic support18.6%
Student services9.9%
Institutional support3.0%
All other (scholarships and grant aid, auxiliary enterprises, hospitals, independent operations and other)41.1%

From the IPEDS Finance survey (2023-24; forms F1A, F2 or F3 depending on the accounting standard the institution follows) and IPEDS 12-month enrollment (full-time-equivalent students), U.S. Dept. of Education, NCES. Shares are each function as a share of total expenses. Some institutions report finances for several campuses together (their students are added together here), and some values are estimates for institutions that did not report. Institutions with hospitals, large research programs or auxiliary enterprises spend much of their money outside instruction, and accounting rules differ between public and private institutions, so figures are not directly comparable between institutions. Spending is not a measure of quality. MajorPays does not rank institutions and does not provide advice. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Acceptance rate is admitted ÷ applicants; yield rate is enrolled ÷ admitted. Graduation rate is completers within 150% of normal program time ÷ the adjusted cohort size. From IPEDS Admissions (ADM), Graduation Rates (GR), and Fall Enrollment (EF) survey components. Completion within 8 years is from the IPEDS Outcome Measures (OM) component: the share of degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates who started in 2016-17 and earned any award from this school within eight years, counting part-time and transfer-in students that the standard graduation rate leaves out; the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

📈

Outcomes after enrolling

What students earned and how they repaid federal loans, from the U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard.

Median earnings, 6 years after entry

$26,077

Median earnings, 8 years after entry

$25,977

Median earnings, 10 years after entry

$25,930

Sample: 3,987 students

Middle half: $12,508–$39,679

These earnings and the sample size are reported by the U.S. Department of Education for a group of campuses that share one federal school ID, so the same figures appear on the pages of 3 schools; they describe the group, not this campus alone.

Median earnings 10 years after entry, by gender

Women$25,452
Men$28,786

Earnings differ by gender for many reasons besides the school, such as the fields students choose and the jobs they take. From the College Scorecard; students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled.

Share earning more than a typical high school graduate

6 years after entry41%
8 years after entry42%
10 years after entry42%

From the U.S. Dept. of Education’s College Scorecard: the share of students who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled who earned more than the Department’s threshold for a typical high school graduate, measured 6, 8 and 10 years after they first enrolled (students who entered about 2013 to 2015 for the 6-year figure and about 2009 to 2011 for the 10-year figure; see the Scorecard data documentation for how the threshold is set). It is a share of students, not a measure of how much they earn, and it depends heavily on who enrolls and where they live. MajorPays does not rank schools. The Department has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation.

Median earnings 10 years after entry, by family income

Family income $0–30,000$24,475
$30,001–75,000$36,732
$75,001 and up$39,883

Federal loan repayment, undergraduate borrowers

4 years after entering repayment (1,687 borrowers)

Paid in fullMaking progressNot making progressDeferment or forbearanceDelinquentIn default

Dollar-based 10-year repayment rate: over 100% (more than the amount borrowed has been repaid, because interest is included).

Median debt of graduates

$14,750

Federal loans

About $156 a month over 10 years at 4.99%

Undergraduates with a Pell Grant

12%

Undergraduates with a federal loan

0%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard (institution-level data, June 2026 release), licensed under Creative Commons Attribution. MajorPays has selected and reorganized these measures; the Department has not endorsed them. Earnings are for students who received federal financial aid and were working and not enrolled 6, 8 and 10 years after first entering the school; family income groups are thirds of students' reported family income. Repayment shows undergraduate federal loan borrowers by status after entering repayment (deferment and forbearance are combined). The monthly amount on the debt card is the Department's calculation of a standard 10-year payment at 4.99% interest on the median federal debt of students who completed; actual payments depend on the repayment plan. A dash means the value is not published, often because too few students were in the group.

Earnings and debt by program

Undergraduate certificates and diplomas

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection—$31,641——
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions—$24,569$29,332$9,500
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers—$20,928—$14,750
Health and Medical Administrative Services41$26,072$30,747$14,700
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR)22$29,395$43,168$14,750
Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services—$14,301$26,335$8,021
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians——$71,256—

Associate degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations0$27,056$38,597$23,000
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management——$31,778—
Health and Medical Administrative Services5$23,876$34,186$23,000
Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services——$21,385$23,000

Bachelor's degrees

ProgramDegrees awarded in 2020-21Median earnings 1 year afterMedian earnings 4 years afterMedian federal loan debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations—$42,512$39,664$38,545

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study data (June 2026 release; Creative Commons Attribution license; MajorPays selected and reorganized the figures). Earnings are the median for graduates who were working and not enrolled in more school, 1 year after finishing (graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20, in 2022 dollars) and 4 years after (graduates of 2014-15 and 2015-16, in 2021 dollars); debt is the median federal Stafford and Grad PLUS loan debt of graduates who borrowed, including loans taken at other schools (Parent PLUS and private loans are not included; graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20). A dash means the Department did not publish the figure, usually because the group was small. The counts of degrees awarded are awards in 2020-21, a different year from the graduates measured for earnings and debt, and are awards, not people. Programs are grouped by the Department’s four-digit program codes, listed alphabetically within each degree level, not ranked. Earnings and debt differ for many reasons besides the program, such as the students’ backgrounds and the local job market, and the earlier cohorts predate recent changes. The Department of Education has not endorsed the MajorPays presentation. MajorPays does not provide advice.

🏷️

Cost

Tuition, net price, and how it's changed over time.

Tuition & fees

$16,637

Most recent year: 2024

Net price

$26,790

Most recent year: 2022

Cost of attendance, off campus

$41,891

2024-25 published charges: Tuition & fees $16,637 + books $3,200 + room & board $11,581 + other $10,473

Tuition & fees trend

$14k
$14k
$17k
$17k
$17k
$17k
$16k
$16k
$16k
$16k
$17k
$17k
$17k
$17k
$17k
2009201020112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Affordability & Transparency Center (CATC)

Net price trend

$21k
$21k
$22k
$27k
$25k
$25k
$26k
$24k
$25k
$24k
$25k
$26k
$26k
$27k
2008200920102011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Affordability & Transparency Center (CATC)

Tuition & fees is the institution's published sticker price; net price is the average price after grants and scholarships for first-time, full-time undergraduates receiving aid (lags tuition by one year in CATC's own reporting).

Cost of attendance adds the school’s published charges for tuition and fees (in-state), books and supplies, room and board, and other expenses for a full-time undergraduate in 2024-25 (provisional data). It is a sticker total, not what a student pays after grants and scholarships. From the NCES IPEDS Cost component (2024-25 data are provisional); the Department of Education has not endorsed MajorPays' presentation.

💰

Financial aid

Grants and loans received by full-time first-year students.

Received any aid

76.0%

Most recent year: 2023

Pell grants

59.0%

of students received one

Average award: $5,766

Federal grants

65.0%

of students received one

Average award: $5,419

Student loans

65.0%

of students took one out

Average amount: $7,000

Share of students receiving any aid

100.0%
85.0%
100.0%
100.0%
76.0%
201920202021202220232024

Source: NCES IPEDS (Student Financial Aid)

Cohort is full-time, first-time undergraduates (a typical incoming class), not the whole student body. Pell grants are federal need-based grants for lower-income students; federal grants also includes Pell. Averages are among students who received that type of aid.

Links from the school

Admissions office · How to apply · Financial aid office · Net price calculator · Veterans’ benefits

Web addresses the school itself reported to the U.S. Dept. of Education (IPEDS directory, 2024-25). MajorPays does not control these sites and cannot vouch for them; the addresses may be out of date. Always check the school’s own site for current prices and deadlines. MajorPays does not provide advice.

📊

Finances

Revenue, expenses, and financial indicators.

Core revenue

$682,365

Most recent year: 2024

Core expense

$1,304,584

Total operating expense

Instruction spending

$16,220

Per FTE student

Endowment

—

Not reported for this institution

Equity ratio

25.0%

Equity divided by total assets

Reported as a private for-profit institution. Core revenue/expense are total operating figures (not per-student). Equity ratio is the share of total assets financed by equity rather than debt (shown only between -100% and 100%; what is typical varies a lot by sector, and this is not a judgment of the institution). From IPEDS Finance survey component.

👥

Staffing

Faculty salary and staff counts (full-time equivalent).

Average faculty salary

$42,558

All ranks, 2023

No rank: $42,558

Total staff

7

Full-time equivalent

Instructional staff

5

Full-time equivalent

Average salary is equated to a 9-month contract for full-time instructional staff. FTE (full-time equivalent) staff counts combine full- and part-time staff into a single comparable headcount. From IPEDS Human Resources survey component.